Intel/AMD uCode fix for Spectre, HT bug fix and Meltdown.

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by THEBOSS619, Jun 29, 2017.

  1. THEBOSS619

    THEBOSS619 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    145
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I was going to say that to you but @inm8#2 got it first

    I will put a notice about it as we speak now.

    Edit:- Post is updated now :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
    Vasudev and inm8#2 like this.
  2. THEBOSS619

    THEBOSS619 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    145
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I just wanted to point out something here :) and please if you see that I'm wrong correct me then... after all I'm human :)
    [​IMG]

    If you see the difference on performance [before the Spectre & Meltdown thingy events] then I'm sure that it will have effect changes on security too same as performance changes :)

    I would like to add another thing is I tried to make it load as early as possible by doing this trick :)

    Open the registry and go to [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\cpumcupdate] look at the [Start] key... usually you will find the value will be (2) [Which means Automatic] so... change it to (1) [Which means it will load with the system] :)

    I tried to put (0) [Which means it will load at boot] but it didn't work and it failed to apply the new microcode.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
    tiliarou and Vasudev like this.
  3. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    420
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    1,158
    Trophy Points:
    181
    I checked my system and can't seem to get OS support to true, the registry fixes should enable it but for some reason it doesn't, any ideas why?

    [​IMG]

    Still running like a champ, better than ever, maybe AW related?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
  4. saturnotaku

    saturnotaku Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    3,570
    Messages:
    6,746
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    Trophy Points:
    331
    I tried the automated patch on my MSI 16L13 with the i7 7700K, and while it applied properly, it causes Windows Explorer to behave strangely when I connect a USB drive. ESET NOD32 recognizes it, and I get the popup asking if I want to scan the drive. However, the prompt that usually comes up from Windows itself does not. The drive is accessible and usable in Explorer, but it won't eject when I initiate the command to do so. Uninstalling the patch reverts everything back to normal.

    Edit: After applying the registry fix noted here, everything seems to be working normally.

     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
    THEBOSS619 and Vasudev like this.
  5. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    3,009
    Messages:
    6,105
    Likes Received:
    3,917
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Thanks for the tip I'll try. I tried adding uCodes to InsydeFlash BIOS but the flashing refused to flash it saying Insecure Image and refused to flash.
    There are some performance decrease and I felt Win 10 mitigated that decrease using some portion of RAM as a result I did see W10 consumed less RAM.
     
    THEBOSS619 likes this.
  6. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    708
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Yeah im just going to wait, OCN reporting errors even at stock. Intel needs to put in the effort and give us a stable microcode release
     
  7. THEBOSS619

    THEBOSS619 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    145
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Changelog:-
    - Updated post
    - Included older CPU Microcode link for those who wants it :)
     
    hmscott and Vasudev like this.
  8. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKS = That sucks!! STAHP! Dont buy FILTH...

    Reputations:
    11,797
    Messages:
    18,274
    Likes Received:
    27,320
    Trophy Points:
    931
    THEBOSS619 likes this.
  9. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    3,009
    Messages:
    6,105
    Likes Received:
    3,917
    Trophy Points:
    431
    @THEBOSS619 I'm pulling the latest ucode file and reverting to older download links since Intel microcode pages has removed the latest uCodes.
    CRC32: 92EBF2DE
    MD5: 723A20FF20665A0F36B37D0F331F2B08
    SHA-1: 49C28EC435542CDBAE698A0FE31662589D1CA66D
    SHA-256: EF0B9BA83CE474CAC95AF16A7E906AE9C746DB0386F2E438E9445D335A02D976
     

    Attached Files:

    THEBOSS619 likes this.
  10. THEBOSS619

    THEBOSS619 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    145
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I will add it to the google drive link because it is considered older :) since it is dated to [Fri Nov 17 01:21:16 CST 2017]

    Thanks for the valuable file... it is true that they removed this specific microcode.

    Do you know the reason why they removed it on there official Intel website?
     
    Vasudev likes this.
  11. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    3,009
    Messages:
    6,105
    Likes Received:
    3,917
    Trophy Points:
    431
    All microcode were buggy and pulled due to issues. I highly recommend to revert to BA/BE uCode.
     
    THEBOSS619 likes this.
  12. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    3,009
    Messages:
    6,105
    Likes Received:
    3,917
    Trophy Points:
    431
    I got Ryzen uCode bin file and will be uploaded once the beta testing is over.
     
    THEBOSS619 likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page