Installing OS on mSata drive

Discussion in 'Solid State Drives (SSDs) and Flash Storage' started by pcsatman, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. pcsatman

    pcsatman Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yes, tried that. BIOS just does not allow me to boot from mSATA. I can't see any way of disabling the HDD from the BIOS. On the initial BIOS screen both the HDD and the mSATA appear as drive 0 and drive 1 but in the boot screen it doesn't actually mention either drive. It comes up with windows boot manager, uefi device x 2 and network.
     
  2. radji

    radji Sanity = √-x

    Reputations:
    3,773
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    181
    I don't think your in the right BIOS tab then. All BIOS (or at least all the newer BIOS I've seen) will allow you to switch between UEFI and Legacy BIOS mode. In legacy BIOS, you may be able to change the boot priority order based on device. Refer to this photo.

    [​IMG]

    Take a photo of the boot tab of your BIOS screen and post the photo here. It will help me guide you if I'm not doing it blind. Remember, the initial screen when you enter the BIOS isn't the boot tab.
     
  3. pcsatman

    pcsatman Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks Radji

    Will get a look at it tomorrow and report back.
     
  4. OtherSongs

    OtherSongs Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    113
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Good response, odds are you've nailed it.

    The BIOS (not American Megatrends) on my own X220 and T530 have a similar setting, under the tab called "Startup"

    OTOH times are changing. See: Unified Extensible Firmware Interface - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Specifically: >"With the release of Windows 8 in October 2012, Microsoft's certification requirements now require that computers include firmware that implements the UEFI specification. Furthermore, if the computer supports the "Connected Standby" feature of Windows 8, then the firmware is not permitted to contain a Compatibility Support Module (CSM). As such, systems that support Connected Standby are incapable of booting Legacy BIOS operating systems."<

    BTW nice pic above. What camera did you use?
     
  5. radji

    radji Sanity = √-x

    Reputations:
    3,773
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    181
    No camera. Just looked up Legacy BIOS mode under google and found a photo that gave the best detail of what he should look for.
     
  6. pcsatman

    pcsatman Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    OK, cracked it!!!!
    1. Disabled "Rapid Start Technology" in the advanced screen of the BIOS.
    2. Went to Boot tab and and change Boot List Option to "Legacy"
    3. Disabled Secure Boot and Voila!! This then changes the devices to the legacy as you suggested Radji. The list of devices then shows "Second HDD" which on my laptop is the mSATA.

    Thanks very much for your help. What threw me was having to go to the advanced screen and disable the Rapid Start.
    only problem now is I have set up everything except windows on the mSATA. Do I start again or just leave windows on the HDD. The system takes about 8 seconds to boot from cold so can't complain at moment.
     
  7. radji

    radji Sanity = √-x

    Reputations:
    3,773
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Told ya legacy mode would fix it. Didn't know you had to disable fast boot to get it to show. I will remember that for next time and rest assured...there WILL be a next time.

    I'm not sure what you mean by the fact you've set up everything except Windows on the mSATA. I thought you wanted to install Windows on your mSATA? If so, then you do need to clean install Windows to your mSATA drive. Once that's done, I would recommend you plugging an external drive to your notebook, transferring all your files and folders off your existing HDD to the external one (except for the Windows folder, of course), then do a format of your internal HDD to remove the boot code. That way the BIOS won't try to boot from the internal HDD again.
     
  8. tilleroftheearth

    tilleroftheearth Wisdom listens quietly...

    Reputations:
    3,845
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9,809
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    281
    radji, doing that may also make the new boot drive unbootable - I would recommend to remove all drives except the drive you want your Windows install to. Then, do what radji suggested.

    (This will ensure the boot code will be 'tied' to the drive that has the O/S and not any other drive that happened to be in the system at the time of O/S installation).
     
  9. pcsatman

    pcsatman Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    OK Radji, I have got the laptop booting from the mSATA. I have done a clean install and formatted the hdd. I did not want to unplug the hdd due to the time it takes to do a complete strip down of this machine. It appears to wotk fine and have installed everything onto the mSATA and will use the hdd for data.
    Thanks again for everyones help.
     
  10. radji

    radji Sanity = √-x

    Reputations:
    3,773
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    181
    De nada. I figured you didn't want to have to disembowel your notebook just to get to the hard drive. But for reference, tilleroftheearth is 110% right. You should always remove your existing boot drive, then setup and clean install your new SSD/mSATA and verify your system is booting from it normally before removing the boot code from your existing hard drive. The benefit of this is if anything goes wrong with the clean install then you need only reinstall your existing hard drive to get your system working again. It's a great way of protecting yourself in the event something goes wrong. Good luck to you and have fun with your mSATA.

    You're absolutely right. I completely left that step out. +1 to you sir.
     
Similar Threads: Installing mSata
Forum Title Date
Solid State Drives (SSDs) and Flash Storage Installing msata as boot drive Dec 3, 2014
Solid State Drives (SSDs) and Flash Storage Installing 512 840 Pro into system with existing HDD + mSata cache Mar 8, 2013
Solid State Drives (SSDs) and Flash Storage Need help installing msata into new laptop (im SSD newb) Feb 4, 2013
Solid State Drives (SSDs) and Flash Storage Directions On Installing mSATA to T420? Aug 5, 2011
Solid State Drives (SSDs) and Flash Storage 'No Drive Detected' error installing Samsung 840EVO on a Dell Inspiron 1525 Dec 8, 2014

Share This Page