Installing new SSD to GT70, SATA3?

Discussion in 'MSI' started by Cloudfire, Nov 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cloudfire

    Cloudfire (Really odd person)

    Reputations:
    7,224
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    10,184
    Likes Received:
    2,615
    Trophy Points:
    581
    So I just repasted my GT70 0NE and installed the Samsung 840 Pro.I haven`t had a chance to try it out yet.

    But I read from various threads that the notebook have
    1xSATA3
    2xSATA2

    The lower right is SATA2 (where my 500GB HDD I got from MSI was) and the upper left is the only SATA3 according to this forum. But the mSATA raid0 card is already in the upper left and there is no slot there for me to insert the SSD or install any new HDDs. Nor is there any screws where I can mount the SSD to.

    The only place I can install a new drive is the lower right next to the battery. Does this mean I only can use mSATA SSDs to use the SATA3???
     
  2. pau1ow

    pau1ow Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,326
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    66
  3. Cloudfire

    Cloudfire (Really odd person)

    Reputations:
    7,224
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    10,184
    Likes Received:
    2,615
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Thanks Pau1ow. Unfortunately I won`t touch the LPM settings due to the fact that it controls the power management also within the CPU so it won`t just affect the SSD.

    Are there really no other things I can do? Are they selling me a notebook that does not have a SATA3 port ready for new SSDs? Or have I missed something? If I remove the msata raid0 card, is it slots there I can slide the SSD in to to get the SATA3?

    I don`t want to use raid0 or use msata SSDs. This Samsung 840 PRO is the best out there right now
     
  4. GenTechPC

    GenTechPC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    7,253
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4,228
    Likes Received:
    306
    Trophy Points:
    151
    That's because Intel chipset only supports 2 SATA III, so MSI has to sacrifice 2nd slot and use both SATAIII port on primary SATA with dual mSATA module in order to make Super RAID work.
     
  5. -=$tR|k3r=-

    -=$tR|k3r=- Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    4,278
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,346
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ken pretty well explains why MSI chose the primary slot as SATA III only..... to facilitate an mSATA SuperRAID0 configuration, and still allowing for a secondary data drive. Sure, you can remove the mSATA adapter, and this will allow installation of your Samsung 840..... BUT, you will now only have single SATA III SSD performance...... not SuperRAID0 performance.

    :)
     
  6. Cloudfire

    Cloudfire (Really odd person)

    Reputations:
    7,224
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    10,184
    Likes Received:
    2,615
    Trophy Points:
    581
    I`m a little pissed off to be honest.

    The lower right is indeed SATA2. The dock where the mSATA Raid0 card is located however, is SATA3 to some kind of weird connection to the motherboard.
    I CANNOT USE THIS SATA3 interface. I removed the Raid0 card yesterday and there is nowhere I can plug in my Samsung 840 Pro.
    What the hell? This is almost a deal breaker since A) They sell their top model without any possible way to install your own SATA3. A top model without any SATA3. Why? B) They don`t inform about this on their homepage nor do the resellers tell about it. They actually sell SATA3 SSDs to these notebooks.... C) My Samsung 840 is much faster than any Raid0 setup people here are using. Raid0 mSATA is faster with file transfer, thats it, everything else, file access, IOPS, everyday scenarios like programs games etc, power draw, my Samsung 840 smokes raid0 which is the reason why I`m a little dissapointed.

    So right now I have only one option left, and that is editing the LPM settings in registry although I`m very reluctant to do so because it interferes with CPU power management as well.

    Here is my CrystalDiskMark from my Samsung 840 in the only available SSD bay:


    Here is what it looks like on SATA3:
    [​IMG]

    Here is the SATA3 bay where I removed the Raid0 card. The screw holes to mount the SSD are there but as you can see, no SATA3 connection available unless you have to purchase wires that you plug in the two white connections on the right there??
     
  7. jaug1337

    jaug1337 de_dust2

    Reputations:
    1,877
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4,045
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I feel your pain ):
     
  8. pau1ow

    pau1ow Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,326
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You indeed need the SATA PCB that comes along all the MSI notebooks (but yours).

    I wouldn't worry too much about the LPM stuff though...
     
  9. Cloudfire

    Cloudfire (Really odd person)

    Reputations:
    7,224
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    10,184
    Likes Received:
    2,615
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Tried the LPM fix, didn`t help either

    Before:


    With LPM fix:
     
  10. -=$tR|k3r=-

    -=$tR|k3r=- Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    4,278
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,346
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hmmmm, interesting....... I stand corrected. So MSI has proprietized the primary slot? I think it has always been 'assumed', all one would need do is remove the mSATA adapter. Now that I think of it, I really do not recall any actual attempts at this. I think most have been content with the mSATA SuperRAID0 in the primary slot.

    I feel your pain too, and I know this is a disappointment. Not much help, but I guess you can look at it this way....... like an early adopter, you have traveled uncharted on an adventure of discovery...... and in doing such, you have done a service to us all. Now we all know for sure! Best of luck with this.....

    :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page