i7 7700 - with 1050 4GB or 1060 6GB

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by FoxDanger, Feb 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FoxDanger

FoxDanger Newbie

Reputations:
    Hi people.

I'm a video editor/Colorist for 19 years (colorist is less, but anyway). I work with Premiere and Final Cut, but i'm selling my Macbook so I'll stay only on windows now.

As I said, my primary use is Premiere, Photoshop, Illustrator and minor things on After Effects.

My actual macbook its a Mid 2012 with i7 Quad 16gb ram and a GeForce 1GB dedicated and 256GB SSD.

My actual desktop is a i7 Quad 2600K with 16GB and a Zotac GeForce gtx 750 and 128GB SSD plus some HD's.

They are old because I normally buy the best possible config to stay for a long time, the macbook has almost 5 years and still good and same the desktop, 4 years and its fine, I just changed the video card from 250 to 750.

Like I said, I'm very careful with my machines so they stay fine for a long time without lags and things like that, because I really like fast machines.

All that said, it's time for a new Notebook ONLY for work. The 4K industry now is bigger and some clients started to ask for it.

At this momment I can edit 4k on premiere in both machines using proxies. It's fine, not tooooo slow but sometimes I got problems with render, sometimes the preview is a little slower and etc, it's time to change.

Researching a LOT about it I'm seeing there's not too much on render time between this i7 7700 KabyLake processor and these new GTX 1060, 1070... Maybe the processor is a little slower, but not too much.

And the 16gb RAM? I'm thinking the 32gb will be more important than the video card too... What u guys think?

My 3 questions are:

1 - Is the i7 7700 with a GTX 1050 sufficient to edit 4k without use proxies? It will be fine?

2 - Is better have a better card with less RAM or no, better get 32gb ram?