i3-2350M feels so slow compared to i5-2410M

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by LooieENG, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. LooieENG

    LooieENG Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I had a look and their specs are exactly the same (but the i5 has turbo boost to 2.9GHz) but the i3 just feels so sluggish, and every so often Firefox/other apps will just hang, and it will take a few seconds to load up task manager/switch to another app

    I have Windows 7 x64 with 4GB RAM (upgraded to 8GB today) and an SSD. I have the paging file disabled too (it only hit 4GB when playing games sometimes)

    I had the exact same setup before, but a 7200RPM HDD instead of an SSD (this was the i5 system) and it never seemed this sluggish at all. Would an extra 600MHz on each core make that much of a difference? It seriously feels like I'm using a Celeron sometimes...

    Sometimes it will hang, and when I check task manager it's using 2-3% CPU and 1-2 of the cores aren't being used but it's still sluggish

    I reinstalled Windows 7 as soon as I got it, and the only thing running in the background is MSE antivirus.

    I need to do a Memtest later on, but is there any other reason why it would be hanging like this? Does the i3 just suck?

    Edit: I have high performance enabled
     
  2. tilleroftheearth

    tilleroftheearth Wisdom listens quietly...

    Reputations:
    3,845
    Messages:
    9,803
    Likes Received:
    563
    Trophy Points:
    281
    I agree that TB makes a big difference in 'feel' - contrary to what others here think. The i3 is a dog. :)


    But, let's check everything else out:

    You haven't done any SSD optimizations, have you? What SSD are you using? How full is it? What are your usage scenarios (and % in each...)?

    Are the proper drivers installed? Do you have Intel RST 11.6 running?

    4GB RAM is 1990's - you NEED 8GB RAM or more on a modern system to let it fly.

    An upgrade (clean install, of course) to Win8 is highly recommended, btw.
     
  3. Kallogan

    Kallogan Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    596
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Nope it's not a processor story. Problem is somewhere else. I tried a B960 and a core i7 2720qm in the same lap and i couldn't feel the difference in everyday use.

    Probably a ssd or ram issue.
     
  4. LooieENG

    LooieENG Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Nope, didn't know there was SSD optimisation. I have a Verbatim SSD, and the speeds seem to be good enough. 64GB with about 30GB free at the moment (was <5GB yesterday though but I have moved some things over to my external HDD)

    > Disk Sequential 64.0 Read 238.95 MB/s 7.5
    > Disk Random 16.0 Read 91.08 MB/s 7.1
    > Responsiveness: Average IO Rate 0.75 ms/IO 7.9
    > Responsiveness: Grouped IOs 8.26 units 7.5
    > Responsiveness: Long IOs 1.76 units 7.9
    > Responsiveness: Overall 14.51 units 7.9
    > Responsiveness: PenaltyFactor 0.0
    > Disk Sequential 64.0 Write 200.81 MB/s 7.3
    > Average Read Time with Sequential Writes 0.255 ms 7.9
    > Latency: 95th Percentile 0.385 ms 7.9
    > Latency: Maximum 7.901 ms 7.9
    > Average Read Time with Random Writes 0.234 ms 7.9
    > Total Run Time 00:01:04.65

    I didn't get any drivers, except AMD drivers for the GFX card. Don't have Intel RST either, and I have just installed an extra 4GB so I have 8GB now (will run Memtest later)

    I could try an upgrade to Windows 8 - is it still £15?

    One other thing to mention, it seems to hang a lot when doing something like unraring files, but when I check the task manager it's only using 3-4% CPU - I was unraring from the SSD to the SSD. It's DDR PC12800 RAM as well, so I can't see why Firefox wouldn't load almost instantly (earlier, it took about 10 seconds just to load the ctrl+alt+del screen (I've never seen Windows 7 say, "loading security options" for a few seconds before loading the screen)

    Thanks for the help
     
  5. tilleroftheearth

    tilleroftheearth Wisdom listens quietly...

    Reputations:
    3,845
    Messages:
    9,803
    Likes Received:
    563
    Trophy Points:
    281
    See:
    Windows 8 $15 Upgrade Offer: FAQs for Recent PC Buyers | PCWorld


    You should still be eligible for the $15 upgrade.

    The 'hanging' that you mention is almost certainly a driver issue - you need to install chipset, AHCI and sound/video/mouse drivers as a minimum.

    The Verbatim SSD you have seems to be based on a SandForce controller: seems like Dura Write is kicking in... Especially on the small capacity you have.

    You can try to use this unpark core utility and see if the system responds any better:

    See:
    Coder Bag: Disable CPU Core Parking Utility


    The above utility made a big difference in almost all the machines I've tried it on (re: responsiveness).
     
  6. baii

    baii Sone

    Reputations:
    1,394
    Messages:
    3,775
    Likes Received:
    159
    Trophy Points:
    131
    This is the problem...
     
  7. ilovejedd

    ilovejedd Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    73
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I'm thinking it's the SSD, too. Perhaps you can post a CrystalDiskInfo screenshot?
     
  8. LooieENG

    LooieENG Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hi, tried this. It was set to park, so unparked all 3 (from Google looks like there's 3, meaning 1 core on all 3 battery mode settings?) and restarted

    Just after that, I was extracting a RAR file (USB connected external 5400RPM extracting to the same drive) and it hung again. I opened task manager, 10-15 seconds later it opened, but was blank, then 5 seconds later it showed the figures on there - again, only using very little CPU and RAM :confused:

    Hi, what I meant is my old laptop (i5) had a 7200 RPM drive, my new one has an SSD

    [​IMG]

    Not sure if you wanted anything else?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  9. tilleroftheearth

    tilleroftheearth Wisdom listens quietly...

    Reputations:
    3,845
    Messages:
    9,803
    Likes Received:
    563
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Sounds to me like an SSD flailing it's arms uncontrollably - in other words: Dura Write 'technology' has determined that too much was written too quickly and it will throttle all future storage subsystem requests.

    Either: do a Secure Erase (not always a guarantee that performance will return) or get another (larger capacity) SSD and leave as much space as you can 'unallocated' to prevent this very issue.
     
  10. ilovejedd

    ilovejedd Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    73
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Doesn't look like it's a SandForce drive. From what I can tell from Google search, that's a SATA2 model with Phison controller which I'm not at all familiar with. I guess given the OP's experience, it's one controller to steer clear of. :p
     
Similar Threads: i3-2350M feels
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades i3-2350m could not load HD 3000 driver, a bad CPU? Mar 8, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades i3-2350M ---> i7-2620M compatibility? Nov 13, 2013
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Intle Core i3-2350M vs i5-2467UM (ULV) Oct 25, 2012
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades i3-2350M vs A6-3400M + HD6520g? Apr 29, 2012
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades i5 3337U feels slow Jan 1, 2014

Share This Page