HP ZBook Studio G3 Owner's Review

Discussion in 'HP' started by Billy Cantor, Jan 23, 2016.

1. Billy Cantor

Billy Cantor Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Review Summary

This is a personal review of the HP ZBook Studio G3 from a user's perspective. A number of NotebookReview forums members have questions about this machine, so I will update this review over the next few days with answers to the most frequently asked questions. I can post photos, benchmarks, etc.

Disclaimer: I work for an engineering and design firm, not for HP. These opinions are my own and do not represent those of my employer. I alternate between engineering tools and design software, on both PCs and Macs. I have some experience with MacBook Pros, Dell Precision laptops and HP ZBooks so those perspectives (biases?) will probably show here.

System Specs
    • Model #T6E86UT ($2899 USD)
    • Intel Xeon E3-1505M v5 (2.8GHz) with Intel HD graphics P530
    • 512 GB HP Z Turbo Drive PCIe SSD
    • 16 GB DDR4-2133 (2 x 8 GB)
    • 15.6" diagonal UHD UWVA IPS anti-glare LED-backlit (3840 x 2160)
    • NVIDIA Quadro M1000M (special edition with 4 GB dedicated GDDR5)
    • Intel 8260 ac (2x2) + Bluetooth 4.1
    • Fingerprint Reader
    • Windows 10 Pro x64
    Photos

Top View - Exterior

[​IMG]

Bottom View - Exterior

[​IMG]

Bottom View - Taking Cover Off (vents removed)

[​IMG]

Bottom View - Interior

[​IMG]

Photo disclaimer: I added the Samsung 950 Pro in the second M.2 SSD slot. Not included with machine.

Size Comparison (15" MacBook Pro vs. HP ZBook Studio G3)

[​IMG]

2. Billy Cantor

Reputations:
    Benchmarks

UHD 4K Display (non-DreamColor)

I calibrated the display with an X-Rite i1Display Pro using the open-source dispcalGUI app. dispcalGUI also calculates the measured sRGB, Adobe RGB and CMYK gamut coverage.

I also ran the i1Profile app to obtain luminance and contrast ratio measurements.