HP ENVY 14 - GPU Clock and Undervoltage POLL

Discussion in 'HP' started by Xephon, Jul 25, 2010.

?

How do you feel about the graphics performance/offering in the Envy 14?

  1. Satisfied - I own an Envy 14 and know the performance meets my needs and/or expectations.

    65 vote(s)
    27.2%
  2. Neutral - I own an Envy 14 and am not concerned with the performance.

    22 vote(s)
    9.2%
  3. Dissatisfied - I own an Envy 14 and know the performance doesn't meet my needs and/or expectations.

    93 vote(s)
    38.9%
  4. Satisfied - I am an HP customer and believe the offering is fair.

    8 vote(s)
    3.3%
  5. Neutral - I am an HP customer and am not concerned with the offering.

    6 vote(s)
    2.5%
  6. Dissatisfied - I am an HP customer and believe the offering is unfair.

    37 vote(s)
    15.5%
  7. Other - Please specify.

    8 vote(s)
    3.3%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HeavyH20

    HeavyH20 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    The GPU is designed to take more voltage and higher clocks so this particular OC should not create an additional wear.
     
  2. Friendly0Fire

    Friendly0Fire Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Higher clocks shouldn't cause increased wear, or at least not in any noticeable manner. Voltage increases are more important, but that's not what we're doing here.
     
  3. Armen.SG

    Armen.SG Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Is there a detailed guide to over clocking an envy, including warnings?
     
  4. User Retired 2

    User Retired 2 Notebook Nobel Laureate NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    4,127
    Messages:
    7,860
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Modding the BIOS for faster HD5650 clocks

    The higher GPU clock speed can be set in the vbios itself which is stored in the system bios. Unpack the Insyde BIOS with Phoenixtool, open the 60-64kb VBIOS file with RBE, change the clocks to the high speed, then repackage back with PhoenixTool.

    Another possibility: could do extract the faster-clocked VBISO from an Acer 4820TG and inject it instead in the Envy 14 bios.

    If testing this modification then be aware of the BIOS emergency recovery process here.

    Would probably be a good idea for a pioneer to do the bios mod, test it and package it for the enjoyment of other Envy 14 owners.
     
  5. ninja2000

    ninja2000 Mash IT

    Reputations:
    424
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    81
    nando, I just went to give this a try.
    I downloaded the latest version (1.57) and BIOS (F13A) I try to open the BIOS with phoenixtool.exe and it tells me the BIOS is not supported.
    Am I doing something wrong?
     
  6. User Retired 2

    User Retired 2 Notebook Nobel Laureate NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    4,127
    Messages:
    7,860
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure. I don't have an Envy 14. Might be HP's customisations of the Insyde BIOS that prevents PhoenixTool from being able to decompress the bios. Probably a good idea to ask the PhoenixTool makers to investigate.
     
  7. ninja2000

    ninja2000 Mash IT

    Reputations:
    424
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    81
    OK will go and sign up on that forum.

    Would be great to get my 5650 above 500 :)
     
  8. aleckazee

    aleckazee Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Overclocked mine to 545/800MHz, anything over crashes after about 20 minutes. I'm wondering which is more important, core clock or memory? Which will give me a bigger boost. Also, has anyone increased the voltage on it? Correct me if I'm wrong but it also came undervolted didn't it?
     
  9. aleckazee

    aleckazee Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Please tell me if you find a way of doing it. I'd like to get mine to 550/850MHz.
     
  10. ninja2000

    ninja2000 Mash IT

    Reputations:
    424
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    81
    No joy :(

    The tool couldnt read the HP BIOS. Gutted.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page