*HP EliteBook 8740w Owners Lounge - PART 2*

Discussion in 'HP Business Class Notebooks' started by Aikimox, Sep 7, 2010.

?

What is your EliteBook 8740w config (select one from each category)?

  1. Non-DreamColor2 screen

    94 vote(s)
    35.2%
  2. DreamColor 2 Screen

    112 vote(s)
    41.9%
  3. Dual-core Processor

    63 vote(s)
    23.6%
  4. Quad-core Processor

    137 vote(s)
    51.3%
  5. ATI M7820 Graphics

    119 vote(s)
    44.6%
  6. Nvidia FX 2800M

    43 vote(s)
    16.1%
  7. Nvidia FX 3800M

    47 vote(s)
    17.6%
  8. Nvidia FX 5000M

    27 vote(s)
    10.1%
  1. MobileArtist

    MobileArtist Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    234
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    101
    I haven't been on this thread for a bit, but I got into a discussion on a different forum about Spectre and Meltdown as related to the HP 8740W, as HP does not seem to offer any fixes for this model. My model has the Q740. The poster said the only way to be able to get a patch for this machine is to go backwards and install a dual core i7.

    It seems that some on this forum have managed to put much newer CPUs into this machine (six core), and it occurred to me that doing so might make patching this machine easier.
     
  2. triturbo

    triturbo Long live 16:10 and MXM-B

    Reputations:
    1,569
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    231
    There's a Management Engine (ME) update from May 5, 2017 that's on 8740w's drivers page (Firmware section -> Intel Full Management Engine (ME) Firmware Component). Haven't delved into it, but it might make the computer slower. Do a research and pick your poison - safety vs speed :) It might not affect it all in your workload, so have fun.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2018
  3. Fungus99

    Fungus99 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I can't seem to remove the top panel above the keyboard despite having removed the four screws on the bottom.
    The side edges easily pop out but the middle selection will not release. I've tried siding a card to assist in freeing the clips but to no success.
    What am I doing wrong?
     
  4. triturbo

    triturbo Long live 16:10 and MXM-B

    Reputations:
    1,569
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Tilt the display all the way back and pull it harder.
     
  5. 83bj60

    83bj60 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    51
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Not too hard lest you rip the flex cable out ;)

    Sent from my Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70F using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. 83bj60

    83bj60 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    51
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Try to locate the clips - sometimes they can be hard to loosen. Use a second card to give yourself more leverage to protect against cracking the switch plate.

    Sent from my Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70F using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. Fungus99

    Fungus99 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    31
    So i managed to take the top panel off but not without wrapping the right side and drawing blood. As it turns out there's was some sort of glue held hold on to the panel. Not sure if its suppose to be there coz the glue took away the inside metal layer of the panel.

    Anyone the ribbon cable got detached when pulling on the final clip and now I'm sure if I've broken it or what. I've tried sliding it back but with no luck.
     
  8. 83bj60

    83bj60 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    51
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    41
    The glue could be gunk... Or someone else was there :(

    Unless you tried to lift the metal off the plastic :eek:

    Look at the connector clip to see if the retainer is still OK... If that's good then no sweat you may just need a new switch plate.

    There's on for sale on eBayhttp://www.ebay.com/itm/232813159170 for 20 bucks

    Sent from my Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70F using Tapatalk 2
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2018
  9. Fungus99

    Fungus99 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I managed to insert the ribbon back in and everything works, however, the top panel is now very loose and isn't flush anymore.
    Maybe the previous owner intentional put glue there, for this reason, to hold the panel down.
     
  10. Fungus99

    Fungus99 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Yeah i probably will need a new switch plate coz i can actually lift it off even without removing the 4 screws on the back.
    By at least it works.
     
    83bj60 likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page