*HP EliteBook 8740w Owners Lounge - PART 2*

Discussion in 'HP Business Class Notebooks' started by Aikimox, Sep 7, 2010.

?

What is your EliteBook 8740w config (select one from each category)?

  1. Non-DreamColor 2 screen

    96 vote(s)
    35.0%
  2. DreamColor 2 Screen

    114 vote(s)
    41.6%
  3. Dual-core Processor

    64 vote(s)
    23.4%
  4. Quad-core Processor

    138 vote(s)
    50.4%
  5. ATI M7820 Graphics

    123 vote(s)
    44.9%
  6. Nvidia FX 2800M

    43 vote(s)
    15.7%
  7. Nvidia FX 3800M

    47 vote(s)
    17.2%
  8. Nvidia FX 5000M

    27 vote(s)
    9.9%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. knight427

    knight427 theenemysgateisdown

    Reputations:
    1,158
    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    81
    How do I do that? Doesn't directx 11 do everything 9 did and more?
     
  2. sheltem

    sheltem Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    68
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    MS released a good number of updates to DX9. I found this out a few years ago when a game wouldn't run. Turned out my DX9 install was a few months behind in updates.
     
  3. kaliatech

    kaliatech Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    57
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I was kind-of surprised too because I thought every DirectX runtime replaced the previous (but remained backwards compatible). Turns out it is possible to install DX9 alongside DX11, and it also sounds like the released version of W7 didn't include latest DX9 runtimes. More info with download links here: DirectX 9 & DirectX 11
     
  4. Burgerlim

    Burgerlim Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    hi, all

    heavy autocad users here.. mouse lag in acad is probably something to do with active layer manager.. (if you happened to on or dock it). personally i prefer to off it. think this should not have much to do with driver.. been using from acad2008 to 2011, in Fx3700 (desktop) still not 100% smooth..

    HTH..

    am with 3800m, will do specbench later and upload next.
     
  5. Siorah

    Siorah Beware of Squirrels!

    Reputations:
    607
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    for me the mouse lag was related to the tooltips/redraw times in the viewport, which sadly sometimes call old DX9_XX.dll routines which for some reason are not handled in dx11

    Autocad 2011 shouldn't even be using dx11 calls by reality as it's not optimised for them, but it did fix my problems back when i had a firepro. but i will reinstall it tonight on the 2800M and see if it's still there

    **update on AutoCAD 2011 LT**

    I've installed it on my hp, and there is no mouse lag at all, - i do have the runtime libraries installed for DX9 (microsoft.com/directx btw) but it seems to be running ok for me.
     
  6. Siorah

    Siorah Beware of Squirrels!

    Reputations:
    607
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    ok as requested,

    The 2800M SPECViewPerf benches from my baby @1920x1200

    [​IMG]

    Seems somehow i got better scores that the ATI Laptop card O_O, very interesting, I even get better than some of the desktop results - AMD really needs to sort out the driver!!! there is no way this card should be that far ahead of the newer cards, not for its age.
     
  7. knight427

    knight427 theenemysgateisdown

    Reputations:
    1,158
    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    81
    I will be getting my long awaited replacement soon. They couldn't meet my more reasonable CTO wishlist (I don't understand why, but whatever) so they let me pick this pre-config.
     
  8. Koshinn

    Koshinn Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    171
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    56
    wow. fx5000 and dc2 as a replacement?
     
  9. Siorah

    Siorah Beware of Squirrels!

    Reputations:
    607
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    wow thats a nice replacement.

    i have a question, have they fixed the problems with the DC2 and the 5000M? i was told by their support i couldn't have that combination because of a display glitch.

    if it does work alright, i'll get my panel upgraded when i get my 5000M

    can't wait for the benchmarks :)
     
  10. Aikimox

    Aikimox Weihenstephaner!

    Reputations:
    5,955
    Messages:
    10,196
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Wow, congrats!
    That's awesome! Can't wait to see the benches for FX5000M.

    I've just installed Ubuntu 10.10 on my IBM R40. It runs soooo smooth, that I'm almost thinking of selling all other laptops, hehe :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page