*HP EliteBook 8540w Owners Lounge!*

Discussion in 'HP Business Class Notebooks' started by process, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. kgamadia

    kgamadia Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Using DPC Latency checker, as low as 159 us, averaging about 200us, absolute (peak) at 1468us, about once every 10-15s. I don't do any music production, so can't comment. I also don't know if latency changes based on what's running but I had a lot of browser windows open at the time, and if there is any software I can run for you (that doesn't cost me) then I can give it a shot.

    Hope that helps.
     
  2. ironbow

    ironbow Newbie

    Reputations:
    10
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Can anyone please help?
     
  3. kgamadia

    kgamadia Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hi there, I did a search myself, and the best I can come up with is maybe the docking station you have is not the advanced docking station being referred to in all the documentation I read. See an earlier post on Eyefinity AND See this description of docking stations

    The 90W docking station is called just that. The Advanced docking stations start with "N" as opposed to "V". In the Elitebook documentation, it does say not all features are available on all docking stations. Maybe to extend past 2 displays, the Advanced stations are required??

    Sorry about that. This is the best I can come up with as I don't have a docking station or 2 external monitors to test with.

    Cheers.
     
  4. ironbow

    ironbow Newbie

    Reputations:
    10
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Really do appreciate it, I did see that doc comparing the regular docking station and the advanced. On my end all I see are two video ports on the regular docking station I have and a button where I can open my laptop lid and figured "this should work!" :)

    The monitor that's connected to the docking station's VGA input is labeled as a CRT in the Catalyst Control Center so I didn't know if that would be a problem either. Considering both my monitors are HP Compaq LA 2205wg (primary is landscape, secondary is portrait) I guess it IS an issue with the docking station relaying the input as lower quality because it's VGA rather than the advanced's two DVI inputs. But regardless of the quality it should just display three outputs if it could : / right? I mean, it sees all my monitors... >.>

    Either way, I'll see about ordering the advanced docking station. The setups for Eyefinity make me want this even more! Four monitors? ::drool:: (even for work haha!) I'll do some more research and if I finally come to a conclusion I'll post it here. Thanks for the response and the help kgamadia! If you find anything else, feel free to PM me or reply :)
     
  5. kgamadia

    kgamadia Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I am guessing that those "Vxxxx" model # docks were created before the technology allowed more than 2 displays. As I searched, I came across a lot of questions asking if it was possible to have more than 2 monitors running and "no" was the standard response. It is the "new" Eyefinity technology that has opened this up, and so they probably didn't build the docks with that support till the "Nxxx" models.

    I would love to see all monitors in use! For sure, if I learn something I'll pass it on, and I would be interested in the results if you get to try anything out yourself.

    Cheers.
     
  6. maildog

    maildog Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Anybody with a clear idea on what the LED error codes mean? I have the two lights flashing 3x then pause and this is repeated 5x. Now is that a 3 code error or a 5 code error? Or some sort of uber 15 code error and the laptop's about to explode :D
     
  7. Megol

    Megol Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    106
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    31
    If anyone with a M5800 could take the time to find the PCI/VEN and DEV id + SUBSYS id (in the device manager) for the graphics card I would be very grateful.
    I'm trying to check if the BIOS have a whitelist for MXM cards as it does for WLAN/WWAN cards - so far I haven't found any check for my current nVidia card except in the video BIOS.
     
  8. Megol

    Megol Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    106
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    31
    IMHO error code 3. What that means differs between vendors but a guess would be video card error (as the BIOS contains error messages for almost every other error :p).
     
  9. kgamadia

    kgamadia Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hi, see attached image and let me know if I got what you needed. I think someone in this thread or the 8740W owner's lounge asked about swapping vid cards and the response was that the bios works off of a whitelist.

    EDIT: Found this during my travels. A prior discussion on changing vid cards - may be of interest:
    Page 140, 8540W Owner's lounge


    Cheers.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. rongee

    rongee Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi, all, new here. I was wondering if anyone was having problems using the Displayport on the 8540w? I have an Eizo monitor connected using the Displayport and I am regularly having the monitor go blank for a second and then come back to normal. This is usually preceeded by the screen flickering a bit. I've seen some notices of this on other forums, but no one seems to have an answer for this. Possibly driver problem? Heat problem? Mostly wondering if anyone had seen this.
    Thanks and have a good day.
    Ron
     
Loading...

Share This Page