1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

HP dv5t stuck on "hp invent" screen

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by seamustry, Sep 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. seamustry

    seamustry Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    when i turn on hp dv5t laptop, it stays stuck on "hp invent" splash screen.

    pressing esc or any f-keys does nothing. it just stays on the splash screen.

    it is still under warranty but i want to recover my data myself (i don't trust HP repair person will do it for me).

    is there a way i can fix this problem?

    thanks
     
  2. sendmarksmail

    sendmarksmail Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    They probably won't recover you're data. Best thing to do is buy a cheap $10 2.5" HD external usb enclosure. Connect it to another PC with enough space and back up all you're files there.

    You can find cheap ones at newegg.com. It's better than trusting HP with your hard drive. Worth the 10-15 dollars to do it yourself.
     
  3. seamustry

    seamustry Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    but still i would have to remove the hard drive from the laptop and if do that, it will void my warranty.

    that's why if there is any way i can fix the stuck at splash screen problem myself, please do tell me.
     
  4. Lithus

    Lithus NBR Janitor

    Reputations:
    5,504
    Messages:
    9,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Removing your HDD doesn't void your warranty.
     
  5. seamustry

    seamustry Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    really? i thought if i even touch any screws on the laptop, it will void my warranty.

    is there anythign in writing about this? i doubt it's easy to remove the hard drive.
     
  6. Lithus

    Lithus NBR Janitor

    Reputations:
    5,504
    Messages:
    9,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    It's your warranty, so you find me the clause in your warranty that says "removing the HDD voids this warranty".

    A HDD is extremely easy to remove. Requires you to unscrew 2 screws.
     
  7. sendmarksmail

    sendmarksmail Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I've upgraded my RAM and HD, and sent it to HP for repairs. No issues. Just take lots of pictures.
     
  8. flipfire

    flipfire Moderately Boss Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,146
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    466
    1) Pop out the battery pack

    2) Take out the AC power

    3) Unplug ALL USB and external devices

    4) Hold the power button for 30 seconds

    5) Start up using AC power only

    Ipods and other USB devices sometimes stop you from booting past the BIOS
     
  9. exercise

    exercise Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Like Fipfire says:

    I have a USB thumb drive that prevents my DV6 from going past the BIOS.
     
  10. seamustry

    seamustry Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    i tried flipfire's method but it didn't work. i didn't have anything plugged in anyways.

    i read about resetting the cmos but that would definitely void the warranty. i'll try to see if i can get the hdd out.

    any other ideas? thanks.
     
  11. rief

    rief Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    83
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    can you enter the BIOS, by tapping F10?
     
  12. Lithus

    Lithus NBR Janitor

    Reputations:
    5,504
    Messages:
    9,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    I don't know where you're getting your information from, but resetting the CMOS does not void the warranty. All that involves is removing and replacing the CMOS battery.
     
  13. RW-One

    RW-One Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    "i read about resetting the cmos but that would definitely void the warranty."

    Resetting defaults will not void a warranty either.
     
  14. FordLorider

    FordLorider Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    No, pressing F1, F10, ESC does not get me into the BIOS or past the 'hp invent' screen. After pressing F10 it does say at the bottom 'F10...BIOS Setup Options' but never gets in the bios.

    Just before this issue occured, I did plug in both a USB thumb drive and a old digital camera plugged into the USB ports. I thought I turned on the computer, came back and the computer was turned off. I was not on AC, I am not certain how much battery power I had left.

    I have already tried reseating my memory, I reset the CMOS by taking out the battery, turning it on with and without the battery. Found another 3V battery and put that in there, same result. The computer just doesn't want to get past the 'hp invent' screen.

    Let me know if you guys can think of anything, of course this occurs just over a year from black friday when I purchased this computer, I have to find my paperwork and see where my warranty is at.
     
  15. 2.0™

    2.0™ NBR Macro-Mod® Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    13,234
    Messages:
    7,510
    Likes Received:
    843
    Trophy Points:
    281
    You have to leave the CMOS battery out for more than 5 minutes to get it to reset properly.
     
  16. newsposter

    newsposter Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    801
    Messages:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Try taking out all but one memory module and the wifi card.

    In short, simplify the config of your machine as much as you possibly can.
     
  17. FordLorider

    FordLorider Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Still a no go. I am working on it tonight. I will remove the wifi card and one memory stick.

    I am also running the XP Check Disk program, next I am going to try for fixmbr.
     
  18. FordLorider

    FordLorider Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Ok, I was able to fix the problem. As we all suspected, it was a Bios CMOS checksum error. Probably due to a power dropout at a freakish time when the computer was trying to write to EEPROM.

    I can't explain how I fixed the problem but I just put a WIN XP installation CD in and tried to boot from that. Then on the screen flashed a CMOS checksum error warning and gave me options to fix it. Good luck all!
     
Similar Threads: dv5t stuck
Forum Title Date
HP & Compaq dv5t battery stuck at 0% Apr 6, 2010
HP & Compaq Hp Dv5t stuck in headphone mode Jul 4, 2009
HP & Compaq HP G6t or dv5t???? Please tell me ordering tomorrow!! May 16, 2011
HP & Compaq Exchanging HP dv5t, suggestions? Jul 22, 2010
HP & Compaq New Deals Expected on dm4t, dv5t, or dv6t? Jul 4, 2010

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page