HP classes, found this funny

Discussion in 'HP' started by spaceman2004, Apr 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spaceman2004

    spaceman2004 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I thought I'd sign up for the vista online classes at HP for the fun of it. (I'm not gonna learn anything from them)

    But I found this funny from lesson 1, and I quote...

    "Windows Vista is available in many different editions, each one uniquely equipped and priced. Most of these editions are also available in either 32-bit or 64-bit versions, depending on the type of CPU you have. (Most PCs use the 32-bit version; however, if you have a new computer with a 64-bit processor, select a 64-bit version.) "

    So, how come does HP kick out 32-vista with most of their prebuilt 64-bit machines? (Rhetorical question)

    I just thought it was funny in a sad kind of way!
     
  2. kanehi

    kanehi Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    146
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    'cause they know that lots of programs aren't 64-bit compatable yet?
     
  3. spaceman2004

    spaceman2004 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    And what's that got to do with it? You can run 32-bit programs under 64-bit windows! Plus, I think you're missing the point! HP own classes say, if you have a 64-bit CPU then you should use a 64-bit version of Vista!
     
  4. Jamaicanyouth

    Jamaicanyouth Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    58
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    A lot of 32 bit programs and drivers don't work under 64 bit. So it makes sense to avoid the headache.
     
  5. longhornbsbll15

    longhornbsbll15 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    basically, sell now to people so they can upgrade later = MORE MONEY FOR HP!!!! YEA!
     
  6. mrlanrat

    mrlanrat Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    actually, i got a hp dv6000t laptop. it came with vista home premium 32bit. but i wanted the 64 bit, after all i have a core 2 duo so i borrowed my friends vista 64 dvd and installed it. i used the cd key that came with my laptop (so everything i did is 100% leagal, even windows activation worked perfectly) and now i have 64bit. hp should give you an option whether you get the 64 or 32 but you can always do it yourself.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - classes found funny
  1. cuneyt1984
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    441
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page