HP 8510/8710w - are CPU's upgradeable?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by PSYHEAH, Sep 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PSYHEAH

    PSYHEAH Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Are the CPU's in the HP 8510/8710 series easily upgradeable?

    I am thinking about the new T7800, X7800 and X7900 Extreme CPU's.
     
  2. powerpack

    powerpack Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    7,101
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you have in there now?
     
  3. PSYHEAH

    PSYHEAH Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I have the T7500.
     
  4. powerpack

    powerpack Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    7,101
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same socket same FSB so looks like yes.
     
  5. Lithus

    Lithus NBR Janitor

    Reputations:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    9,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Ha, all you'll be doing in that upgrade is throwing out a few hundred bucks and risk breaking your computer permanently.
     
  6. powerpack

    powerpack Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    7,101
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agreed forgot to throw that in.
     
  7. PSYHEAH

    PSYHEAH Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Being out a few hundred bucks is understood.

    Why would upgrading the CPU break my computer?
     
  8. Lithus

    Lithus NBR Janitor

    Reputations:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    9,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    You make it sound so easy. If you bend/break a pin, short the mobo...

    Now I don't know your skill with computers, but I've dealt with people who point to their computer and call it a modem.
     
  9. Charles P. Jefferies

    Charles P. Jefferies TG Lead Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    13,784
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    35,060
    Likes Received:
    761
    Trophy Points:
    531
    I am not sure if the X7800/X7900 are going to be work . . . they have a 44W TDP compared to the standard Core 2 Duo's 35W. The 8510's cooling system is already strained so putting in a much hotter CPU is not going to help matters. Your notebook could overheat. Also, the power adapter may not be able to supply enough power.

    I suggest asking HP if they are going to put in the Extreme CPUs.

    Oh and by the way, the X7800 is a waste of money, it's as fast as the T7800 which is less.
     
  10. PSYHEAH

    PSYHEAH Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    What about the 8710? Do 17" models have better cooling?

    From what I understand, the X7800/X7900 have their multipliers unlocked so they can be overclocked much more easily that the T7*00 series.

    There is a guy on this forum who has put a X7800 into his T61p. I wonder how his mod is working out.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page