1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

How to turn off intel video card?

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by xpsbrenden, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. xpsbrenden

    xpsbrenden Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    So I have a new XPS 15z with the 2gig Nvidia graphics card. Is there anyway to turn off the Intel graphics card so the system just utilizes the Nvidia card? I've done a search and some posts say on certain systems you and achieve this in BIOS but that's not the case on the 15z.

    any suggestions would help! :D
     
  2. zjacobss

    zjacobss Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Sorry, you can't.
     
  3. seeker_moc

    seeker_moc Spes mea in Deo est

    Reputations:
    354
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,098
    This is one of the reasons I don't understand why people like Optimus so much. At least with the AMD switchable graphics there's a physical switch, so you can control which GPU is used when. Granted, with Optimus the switching is automatic, but I'd rather spend the extra .5 second flipping a switch then not having control of the hardware in my own machine. Nvidia really needs to come up with a simple app that allows you to manually select which GPU to use if you so desire.
     
  4. madmattd

    madmattd Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    368
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,348
    You can.....

    Right-click on Desktop, go to "Nvidia Control Panel" or something like that. Click the "Manage 3D settings" option on the left. You can then select which GPU to use as a default (it is usually set to auto-select). The other tab lets you override for individual programs, you can add ones not in the list by clicking "add" and navigating to said program's .exe.

    Personally I leave mine on auto-select. I have no need to be using extra power and generating more heat if I am just sitting on the desktop or web browsing/typing. For games and my CAD work the good GPU switches on. And I manually set the NVidia GPU for the odd game that doesn't auto-select properly. It's not that hard honestly.

    You could just set the default to use the Nvidia, but then your fan will run non-stop and your battery life will go down the toilet.
     
  5. zjacobss

    zjacobss Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Yes you can choose to run a program with the gpu but the intel graphics will always be active managing your screen or display, I don't know how to say this.
     
  6. madmattd

    madmattd Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    368
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,348
    Well how the Optimus works is that all graphics are rendered by the Intel chip. When the NVidia card is asked for, the NVidia does all the processing and just sends the results to the Intel chipset to display it. There is no software OR BIOS way of circumventing this, it is how it is wired. The 3D systems are different in that the Intel graphics are permanently bypassed.

    I don't see what the problem with the Intel managing the display is? I know some people don't like it but honestly I have had no problems with it. I suppose there is a .000000001s delay between the NVidia rendering and the the Intel displaying, but that is not noticeable by the human eye.
     
  7. BobTheSniper

    BobTheSniper Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    I have my NVidia chip turned off globally, and set to only run on games. Intel HD 3000 is fully capable of doing anything except gaming.
     
  8. Falco152

    Falco152 Notebook Demon

    Reputations:
    433
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,753
    Well, AMD is starting to go the same direction as Nvidia Optimus for their switchable technology.
    A couple of preview models are available for purchase now.
     
  9. madmattd

    madmattd Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    368
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,348
    Very true, and I've been considering doing this except I have too many games, lol.
     
  10. floofy

    floofy Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    There might be a way, but there's no reason to. Your graphics card kicks in whenever you need it for something, whether it's running a game, video, etc. Using integrated or not in Windows won't affect it all, the Intel HD is enough plus it saves power.

    I have the 15z too and I had a problem with the GPU automtically kicking in so some of my games would just lag. I just dled the latest software from NVIDIA and it works perfect now. This was after I installed a fresh x64 Professional so I didn't have any of the Dell presets installed.
     
Similar Threads: turn intel
Forum Title Date
Dell XPS and Studio XPS XPS 13 2015 Won't Turn On ... Died Yesterday at 10:21 PM
Dell XPS and Studio XPS How do you turn on the keyboard lights, XPS-15; L521X, ?? Nov 19, 2013
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell xps 15z won't turn on Apr 29, 2013
Dell XPS and Studio XPS L501X: Can't Turn Wireless On Apr 18, 2013
Dell XPS and Studio XPS SXSP 1645 media button lights doesn't turn on Nov 25, 2012

Share This Page