How to take a screenshot........?

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by SlimShady, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SlimShady

    SlimShady ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&

    Reputations:
    806
    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Alt + Print Screen doesn't work on my laptop..............just plain old Print Screen doesn't work............so I'm clueless here.

    Can someone explain to me an alternate method of taking a screen shot please? :eek:
     
  2. ZaZ

    ZaZ Super Model Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    4,513
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    32,389
    Likes Received:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    501
  3. blackbird

    blackbird Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    584
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    You sure you did the combo right, for example my print screen key is written in blue, which means I have to do fn + print screen to get the shot.

    Then you open up paint and paste ctrl+v.


    If that doesn't work, then for VISTA there is the snipping tool which I prefer. Just hit the start orb, type in snipping in the start search and select snipping tool.
     
  4. SlimShady

    SlimShady ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&

    Reputations:
    806
    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Thanks but I thought it could be done in Windows without the need for more software..........is this not the case?
     
  5. blackbird

    blackbird Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    584
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    look above your post
     
  6. SlimShady

    SlimShady ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&

    Reputations:
    806
    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I can try the FN key..........didn't try that. The key is shown on the laptop as PRTSC
    SYSRQ


    If that makes a difference.
     
  7. SlimShady

    SlimShady ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&

    Reputations:
    806
    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    31
    You guys are too fast for me. lol

    I'll try the Snippet thing, FN didn't work. That worked.............thanks again.
     
  8. blackbird

    blackbird Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    584
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    No probs

    Its snipping tool.

    My fn key is entirely in blue, which means to access keys that are in blue I have to hit fn + the key. For you it could be a different key, look for what colour print screen is written in, then look for a key which is entirely that colour with no extra writing on it.
     
  9. SlimShady

    SlimShady ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒ&

    Reputations:
    806
    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    31
    It's actually written in the same color as every other key on the keyboard.
     
  10. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,613
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,522
    Likes Received:
    701
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Alt+PrtSc works on most notebooks but some may need Alt+Fn+PrtSc. This command should capture the active window. Leave out the Alt and you should get the whole display.

    John
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page