1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

how to share RAM memory to video card

Discussion in 'Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)' started by karlosan, Nov 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. karlosan

    karlosan Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi,
    I have a problem with my asus K50IJ with Extended intel 4500MHD graphics.

    Can you tell me how to set value for graphics card?I tried to find it at bios but i didnt find it.Is there any solution of my problem?Its using 33mb but maximum is 128.

    thx and sorry for my bad english.
     
  2. aylafan

    aylafan TimelineX Elite

    Reputations:
    438
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,247
    The integrated graphics will allocate the required memory for the application you are running. You will not be able to set the value for the Intel GMA 4500MHD because this is controlled by the manufacturer from the hardware level.
     
  3. karlosan

    karlosan Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    but then how the hell they can play CoD 4 on it?When I tested it I had max 10 FPS at lowest settings as possible.
     
  4. DRevan

    DRevan Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    725
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334
    Intel GMA videocards are not for gaming (unless it's a 2D game with low system req), COD4 will not run with enjoyable speed on an Intel GMA VGA. You need a VGA with dedicated memory to have a chance on running COD4 with acceptable FPS.
     
  5. aylafan

    aylafan TimelineX Elite

    Reputations:
    438
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,247
    Most of the Youtube.com videos are running CoD 4 at a resolution of 640x480 at an avg 20 FPS (or lower) with the lowest settings. You might want to try that.

    Integrated graphics is not meant for gaming. You shouldn't expect much from it.
     
  6. karlosan

    karlosan Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    OK,I see...do you think that ViDock is good option?
     
  7. aylafan

    aylafan TimelineX Elite

    Reputations:
    438
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,247
    Does the Asus K50IJ laptop have an ExpressCard slot? If not, then ViDock is not an option.

    ViDock is also quite expensive and you'll need to buy a video card to put inside the ViDock. I don't think it's worth the money.
     
  8. karlosan

    karlosan Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    damn, it doesnt have express slot.
    So thanks for quick reactions.
     
  9. HTWingNut

    HTWingNut Mostly Harmless...

    Reputations:
    20,813
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    32,501
    If you get a laptop with an expresscard slot, then search on these forums for the DIY or Do It Yourself ViDock. Fairly inexpensive to make your own.
     
  10. User Retired 2

    User Retired 2 Notebook Nobel Laureate NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    4,127
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    7,897
Similar Threads: share memory
Forum Title Date
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) 1GB 7670M - how is HyperMemory (shared)? Nov 11, 2012
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) shared memory hack? Oct 23, 2011
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) Dedicated plus Shared memory Apr 15, 2011
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) how to share more video memory Apr 8, 2009
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) 4 GB of RAM, a 32 Bit OS, and Shared Graphics Memory! Feb 24, 2009

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page