How to restore MBR for Vista?

Discussion in 'Linux Compatibility and Software' started by noxxle99, Oct 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. noxxle99

    noxxle99 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    34
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Is this as simple to do as it is with XP? Put in the boot cd, go into recovery mode, and type fix mbr (or something like that)?
     
  2. solargaze27

    solargaze27 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    45
    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    It is really easy to restore the MBR for Vista. You can read about it at Microsoft's own support page here.

    Cheers!
     
  3. Ethyriel

    Ethyriel Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    207
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Is there another problem that's causing you to have to? Maybe we can help with that so you can keep Linux around.
     
  4. chimpanzee

    chimpanzee Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    683
    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    If you have the right stuff. My Vista DVD(comes with the notebook) don't have that option so it is either let it zap my whole disk(restore to factory content) or no way.
     
  5. noxxle99

    noxxle99 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    34
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    it says the /fixmbr option "his option does not overwrite the existing partition table." Does that mean that I could potentially lose data by using the bootrec option?
     
  6. solargaze27

    solargaze27 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    45
    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I have used "bootrec /FixMbr" and "bootrec /FixBoot "in the past when I have wanted to restore Vista's MBR and wipe out GRUB (although I am coming to like GRUB a lot more than Vista's boot manager). I have never lost data using either of these commands. However, as to whether it is possible, I honestly don't know. I would imagine if you are working with the MBR, there is always a chance that something could go wrong. If you are able to access your hard drive in some form, I would recommend backing your important documents up as a general precaution.
     
  7. noxxle99

    noxxle99 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    34
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Solar do you know how to change the default booting OS with grub? I tried changing the line that says "default 0" to 5 and 6 (as suggested in the ubuntu forums), but this didnt work.
     
  8. Ethyriel

    Ethyriel Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    207
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    '0' is just the first active (non-commented) entry. Count to your Windows entry from there. I would guess 3 or 4.
     
  9. littleasian

    littleasian Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    which command do i use to get mbr installed on a vista computer?
    /fixmbr or /fixboot?

    also, does anyone know if i can use the vista upgrade cd in order to fix the mbr?
     
  10. solargaze27

    solargaze27 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    45
    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    As Ethyriel said, you need to count down in GRUB to see whatever you want the default boot to be. The one thing to note though is that you do not count the line that says something like "Other Operating Systems." So, if you want to make Vista your default boot, then you would count down from the top to Vista/Longhorn but exclude the title line right above Vista/Longhorn. On my computer that ended up being 4 down.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page