How to restore machine from PQSERVICE?

Discussion in 'Acer' started by andrewpmoore, Nov 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andrewpmoore

    andrewpmoore Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I've recently offered to help out a friend who's Acer aspire has stopped working.
    It won't book into windows, but she is keen to keep her old files.

    I installed a 2nd version of windows onto the machine to basically back up the whole disk using acronis true image. I've now got that image storage remotley on my own machine.

    I think she bought the computer 2nd hand and never got a burned copy of the recovery disks and for some reason the Alt-F10 thing doesn't work to get into the recovery stuff (I've checked in the Bios for D2D)

    I've managed to make the PQService partition visible and was wondering what was the best way to restore the machine to factory defaults. I created a CD from the STCDBOOT.ISO file, which allows me to book into the recovery manager, but all it does is prompts for the first disk/system disk.

    I'm guessing that all the data required is held in the PQService partition, but I'm not sure how to create the backup DVD's that should have been done when the machine was first used.

    I would image that the data is held in the 92EPIXIE.nnn files in the D2D/images directory of the PQService.

    Any suggestions on how these files need burning to DVD to get the Recovery disk to detect them?
     
  2. Full-English

    Full-English Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,227
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Is the D2D Recovery option enabled within the bios.
     
  3. andrewpmoore

    andrewpmoore Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yes, but it still won't boot into it with alt-f10.
     
  4. Full-English

    Full-English Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,227
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I've found this on the ineternet, not sure if it will help:

     
  5. TeeJay 44

    TeeJay 44 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We are unable to announce the weather. We depend on weather reports from the airport, which is closed, due to weather. Whether we will be able to give you a weather report tomorrow will depend on the weather."
    - Arab News report


    Good play on words....

    Most won't get it though....

    Cheers,
    Theo
     
  6. TeeJay 44

    TeeJay 44 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for the hijack...could not help myself though :D :D

    Cheers,
    Theo
     
  7. kiriakost

    kiriakost Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    90
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    You are forgiven my son ... :D
     
  8. andrewpmoore

    andrewpmoore Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for that. I had stumbled across pretty much the same information.

    What I ended up doing was doing an Acronis True Image backup of the drive.
    I then burnt the PQSERVICE disk from the backup onto a DVD (as when it's backed up you can see and extract the files on it)

    I then just ran the step:
    mbrwrdos.exe install rtmbr.bin

    and that replaced the MBR with the correct one, this then allowed me to get into D2D using Alt-F10 on boot.

    Thanks for your help.
    Andrew
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page