1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

How to reinstall WIndows to My Asus G1?

Discussion in 'Asus' started by nhl770, Jul 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nhl770

    nhl770 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Hey guys I am in need of some help,

    I need to reinstall Windows Home Vista Edition to my Asus G1 Laptop (older version). I was wondering if there are any shortcuts to doing this, like hitting a button on the computer, rather then installing it from the disc? If not i would greatly appreciate it if someone could give me a link to how to reinstall Windows Vista Home Edition to the Asus G1 (older edition). Thanks guys
     
  2. nightfox91

    nightfox91 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    During startup, hit F9 to boot from the recovery partition, which should be a lot faster than the DVDs.
     
  3. nhl770

    nhl770 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Well F9 wipe out everything and install a fresh copy of windows? Because that is what i need it to do.
     
  4. ClearSkies

    ClearSkies Well no, I'm still here..

    Reputations:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,637
    The recovery partition reinstall will wipe the HDD and reimage it to factory-delivery; it's as if you just opened it out of the box, with all of the Asus pre-installed software, etc. It does not install a fresh/new copy of Vista.
     
  5. nhl770

    nhl770 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Ok, so if by mistake i decided part of windows, it would be fixed by doing this?
     
  6. ClearSkies

    ClearSkies Well no, I'm still here..

    Reputations:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,637
    Do you mean "deleted" part of windows? What happened?

    In any event, as long as you haven't altered the HDD partitions along the way (i.e. delete the recovery partition) the procedure should work as described.
     
  7. nhl770

    nhl770 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Well When I do a " Check disk for Erros" in OandO defrag, it says there is an Error. I may not have a huge problem but I just want to start over with my computer and make it faster. So I am just going to back up all my documents to my external. I guess there are a few questions.... Should I do a System Restore back say 2 weeks (when it was fine), Should I hit F9 on reboot, Or should I do a PC Full system Restore using the windows disc? I just want to get my windows operating system back to factory settings to know I have not made a mistake. What I meant by deleting part of windows by mistake was, When i Un-istalled a program I did not do it properly and ended up deleting part of windows with that program. I also have removed 2 viruses from my computer so maybe I should just wipe it out. Lastly I have noticed a bunch of weird folders being formed in my C drive, which may not be a problem, but I would like it to be clean.
     
  8. nightfox91

    nightfox91 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Go ahead and do wither F9 or the system restore(whichever one works for you). It will give you the cleanest solution.
     
  9. nhl770

    nhl770 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    So i just turn my computer on and hit F9? Then its self explanatory from there.? Is this correct?

    Thanks a bunch for your help
     
  10. nightfox91

    nightfox91 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Yea, although you may have to keep pushing F9 to make sure you get it at the right moment. After that it's easy.
     

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page