How to Pin RocketDock to Desktop?

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by KUNFUCHOPSTICKS, Aug 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KUNFUCHOPSTICKS

    KUNFUCHOPSTICKS Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    35
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    In the settings I have Rocketdock as Always on bottom. But when I press "show desktop", rocket dock is gone. I have to max and min a window to get it to show again. Is there a way to pin it to desktop, so 'show desktop' command won't affect it?

    Thanks
     
  2. plsdonotbug

    plsdonotbug Guest

    Reputations:
    0
    hmmm why use rocketdock? it slows down your comp... if you want to minimize, try winkey + M to minimize all windows... i dont know if this will minimize rocketdock too :(
     
  3. stirfriedsushi

    stirfriedsushi Confuse a Cat LTD

    Reputations:
    60
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    rocketdock uses very little cpu, actually, it uses almost none. so :p to you plsdonotbug

    There are settings in rocketdock to have it always at the bottom, and when you mouse over it, it pops up.

    check around the behavior tab in the dock settings and you should find that option.
     
  4. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Odd, it does not do that on my PC
     
  5. knightingmagic

    knightingmagic Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    144
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I just never use the "show desktop" command.
     
  6. stirfriedsushi

    stirfriedsushi Confuse a Cat LTD

    Reputations:
    60
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    why not, its a useful command. Rocketdock still shouldn't be doing that.
     
  7. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    My desktop looks the same, whether shown or not: All black and empty.
     
  8. xhepera

    xhepera Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    36
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Aside from the fact that you didn't answer the OP's question, this is inaccurate information.
     
  9. knightingmagic

    knightingmagic Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    144
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I like to switch right to the next window, hence I never use show desktop.

    A workaround is to use Windows+M instead of Windows+D. Then the dock will stay.
     
  10. swarmer

    swarmer beep beep

    Reputations:
    2,071
    Messages:
    5,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Yeah, I don't like show desktop. It hides my sidebar gadgets too.

    Instead I use Win-M to minimize all windows and Win-shift-M to restore them. This keeps both RocketDock and the Sidebar gadgets visible.

    Also, in RocketDock, if you select "Popup on mouseover", then you can just move your mouse over where the dock is hidden, and hold it there a second, and it'll pop to the front. (I have layering set to "Normal" though... don't know if it works when set to "Always on bottom"... but it might.)
     
Similar Threads: RocketDock Desktop
Forum Title Date
Windows OS and Software How to export RocketDock settings? Jun 20, 2012
Windows OS and Software A few problems with Rocketdock Aug 9, 2010
Windows OS and Software RocketDock vs. ObjectDock Aug 6, 2010
Windows OS and Software Rocketdock Problem Sep 17, 2009
Windows OS and Software Rocketdock icon spacing Aug 2, 2009

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page