How to improve my K3100M's performance? (Dell Precision M6800)

Discussion in 'Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)' started by iGideon2015, Mar 4, 2019.

  1. iGideon2015

    iGideon2015 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi all!

    I'm totally new here, so sorry for any mistakes!

    I recently got my hands on a mint Dell Precision M6800, and it's a wonderful thing!
    Only problem, it's rocking the Quadro K3100M 4Gb graphics card.
    The overall performance of the laptop is awesome, but the gaming performance is balls.. like, really bad.
    Cannot even play GTA V on the lowest settings without massive stutter.

    Now did i see a post recently about flashing it's BIOS, but i have no clue where to start, or what to do...

    So is there anyone that's out there, that will help me out?
     
  2. iGideon2015

    iGideon2015 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Nobody I guess?
     
  3. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    219
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    76
    If you dont need a quadro, grab a used 980m, OC'ing wont get you much over 10% more performance and a lot more heat, given that its an M6800 I think the 1060 also works.

    @RMSMajestic is the expert on GPU upgrades in the Precisions.
     
  4. iGideon2015

    iGideon2015 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for the response!

    I sort of know that a 970M would be a better idea, but I dont have the money for that card.
    I just got this machine, and it wasn't that cheap.

    The K3100M is fine overall, it's just the raw performance.
    Maybe someone in my country will trade an 960 or 970 for my Quadro :)
     
  5. Charles P. Jefferies

    Charles P. Jefferies TG Lead Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    20,268
    Messages:
    36,222
    Likes Received:
    3,849
    Trophy Points:
    681
    Try 3DMark and see what kind of scores you get. Also use something like Cinebench R15 GPU test for something workstation-class.

    Gotta isolate the source of the problem ...the card throttling/driver issues/software issues. Some baseline benchmarks are a good starting point.

    Charles
     
    toughasnails likes this.
  6. iGideon2015

    iGideon2015 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Great thanks!

    I will run the benchmarks tomorrow, and post screenshots of the results.

    I dont't really think that throtteling is the issue, it's just that mine isn't overclocked.
    And I have no idea how to use that flashing tool named 'nvFlash'

    If there is someone that can help me out?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  7. iGideon2015

    iGideon2015 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Just a little update,

    I JUST came across an advertisement for an GeForce GTX870M Clevo / Alienware.

    Anyone any idea if that will work?

    Just comparing the cards, by looks, they seem the same, except for the GPU itself.
     
  8. Charles P. Jefferies

    Charles P. Jefferies TG Lead Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    20,268
    Messages:
    36,222
    Likes Received:
    3,849
    Trophy Points:
    681
    Flashing the card isn't the first thing I would try. You can "brick" e.g. ruin the card that way. Overclocking has nothing to do with your troubles, either.

    Benchmarks is where I would start. Baseline performance numbers are needed to assess where to go next.

    Charles
     
  9. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    219
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    76
    The first thing I would do is a full teardown to clean everything, be it fans, heatsink/heatsink fins as well as all the dust that accumulates inside the chassis, I would also repaste with at least Artic MX4(and that will help a bit).
     
  10. iGideon2015

    iGideon2015 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Already done that, machine has been cleaned out, no specs of dust to be seen.
    CPU performance is awesome, the machine performs really whell, it's just the graphics that are horrible.
     
Loading...

Share This Page