HOW TO: Create a BOOTABLE USB Flash Drive to flash AW BIOS updates under DOS

Discussion in 'Alienware' started by BatBoy, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. BatBoy

    BatBoy NBR Community Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,391
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,968
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    206
    *This thread linked in AW General Info sticky*

    On occasion, AW will release a BIOS update which is not an executable under windows or will release one which includes both the Windows EXE and the files to flash the BIOS under DOS if the user so desires (sometimes, its just an .iso which you have to burn, in which case this would not apply of course).

    A frequent question is: How do I create (easily) a bootable USB drive in order to flash my BIOS?

    I spent quite a bit of time in the past searching for the easiest way to do this. I finally came across the following method which is very easy and can be done in under a minute.

    REQUIRED:
    Format Tool , MiniDOS files
    Archive here: BOOTABLE FLASH DRIVE.zip

    1. Download the above archive
    2. Extract it to your desktop
    3. Insert your USB flash drive
    4. Launch the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool
    5. Give the Flash Drive a name (example: USB FLASH STICK)
    6. Check the checkbox for Quick Format
    7. Set the File System to the FAT option (Note, if you do not see FAT, reference this post by katalin_2003)
    8. Click on 'Create a DOS startup disk', select the radial for 'using DOS system files located at:', click the '...' button and point to the directory (part of the downloaded archive) titled "MiniDOS".
    9. Click Start

    DONE.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Now that you have a bootable flash drive, copy over the files for the BIOS update. I suggest the following:

    1. Save the BIOS files in their own directory on the flash stick. Example: 'M11xR1_A05'. I do this in order to save the various BIOS revisions so I can re-flash another version if needed.

    2. Now, to boot, insert the USB stick and power up the system. Be sure to depress F12 @ the BIOS to bring up the one time boot menu. Select the option to boot from USB STORAGE and hit enter.

    Your system will now boot using the USB Flash Drive.

    NOTE: You will see a prompt to enter current system time and date. Don't worry about this - just hit enter until you hit the C: prompt.

    3. Once at the C:\ prompt, change the directory to the BIOS update. If you used my suggestion, the command would be:

    cd M11xR1_A05

    remember, 'cd' stands for change directory.

    4. Once you have changed the active directory to the one with the BIOS update files, execute the batch file to update the BIOS. (typically this is F.BAT). Dell will usually list how to execute under DOS within the instructions listed on the BIOS download page.

    If at any time you need to review the contents of the active directory, type 'dir' (for 'Directory') to list the contents.

    NOTE: This USB flash stick will not support other DOS based functions. It is designed simply to get you into DOS and put you at the C:\ prompt.

    If any of this sounds confusing to you, stick with the instructions listed by Dell (burn .ISO, flash from windows, etc.) on the BIOS download page.

    Enjoy.
     
    Qing Dao and reborn2003 like this.
  2. tyranus7

    tyranus7 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    132
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I went through hell doing this. Because I didn't have a regular USB storage devide, only had my cellphone. Only the files extracted from an ISO of FreeDOS helped me and I was able to boot from my cellphone and flash the A06 Bios. Good guide anyway using the HP utility seems to be the easiest way to do this.
     
  3. spradhan01

    spradhan01 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    It doesn't work in 64 bit.
    click the '...' button and point to the directory (part of the downloaded archive) titled "MiniDOS".

    It says-
    The user supplied DOS system files are not compatiable with FAT32.
     
  4. BatBoy

    BatBoy NBR Community Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,391
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,968
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Not sure what you mean... I had no issue doing this and I am running W764. ;)
     
  5. spradhan01

    spradhan01 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    It gives me this error.

    The user supplied DOS system files are not compatiable with FAT32.

    Screenshot:


    never mind....
    It was because of the FILE SYSTEM
    I had FAT32 which should have been FAT since it is less than 4 GB(I had 2gb flash drive).
    Now it works fine.

    @Batboy: You might wanna update this info just to make sure that other don't get confused.
     
  6. Bloodydream

    Bloodydream Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ooo thanks, I had the same problem however I don't remember seeing the option for just FAT, only NTFS and FAT32. I give it a go again. :)
     
  7. spradhan01

    spradhan01 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    If you have a flash drive < 4gb, you will get the FAT.
     
  8. BatBoy

    BatBoy NBR Community Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,391
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,968
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    206
    FWIW, I used a 1GB flash stick and a 2GB.
     
  9. spradhan01

    spradhan01 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Strange!!!:confused: :confused:
     
  10. Anggrian

    Anggrian Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    does this works for m15x?
    i stuck at number 3 for entering command to change directory
    it keep says "CHDIR failed for 'M15xR1_A09'"
     

Share This Page