How to automatically under-volt in XTU without opening it

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by ThatOldGuy, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. AlexanderKim

    AlexanderKim Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    6
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I still have flashing powershell window. Something is wrong. Win 10 (1803)
     
  2. shisui

    shisui Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Throttle is more convenient and functional, you should try it first.
    A better version is upload below, input profile is enough.


    Thanks a lot, I made a little tool to auto apply these settings

    Run exe, then input xtu profile name, auto apply profile on at startup.
    Run again, config removed.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 5, 2019
    Ultra Male and hmscott like this.
  3. RoryH

    RoryH Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I hadn't used Intel XTU in ages until just recently, but I remember when I got my G750 in 2013 and was experimenting with undervolting I definitely remember that XTU used to automatically apply the settings after a boot up. It wasn't immediately but after a few minutes when I would check CPU-Z, I would see the core multipliers overclocked.

    Can anyone confirm that this feature has been removed from newer/current versions of XTU?
     
    hmscott likes this.
  4. RoryH

    RoryH Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi, I opened the app and noticed it asks for core voltage. Currently I am only using core voltage offset, and cache voltage offset, as well as increased multipliers. Does the exe file have those features? What command would I enter to skip the core voltage question if so.

    Cheers!
     
  5. shisui

    shisui Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The first setting under-volt is to set voltage offset, input "-100" means reduce the voltage of 100mv.
    Sorry, only four options :

    1. under-volt
    2. long boost watt
    3. short boost watt
    4. short boost time
    For now, I only found those settings' command.
    If you don't want it working, type default value, for under-volt is 0.
    Of course, run remove with admin everytime you want to change it.
    First time to write ps scripts, sorry:(
    I may improve it when I have time.
    A better way to achieve this is to auto apply xtu profile.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2019
  6. RoryH

    RoryH Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Thanks for your reply, no problem.

    I actually uninstalled the latest XTU version and just went back to version 6.2.0.19 (as someone mentioned earlier in the thread) and now its working again and automatically applying the underclock without any any powershell or messing around :)

    So I think they removed the automatic applying from newer versions, which is a shame.
     
    hmscott likes this.
  7. shisui

    shisui Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi, I made a script can auto apply xtu profile. Easy and simple.
    All you need to do is to input your xtu profile name.

    You should try throttlestop first, I think it is more convenient and functional.

    Tested on Windows 10 with Powershell support !

    Every time you run this little tools it will remove last settings.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 5, 2019
    6.|THE|1|BOSS|.9 and RoryH like this.
  8. Djadit

    Djadit Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    102
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    56
    What if im undervolt i must overclock to? Cause i have fps drop if im undervolt without overclock it

    Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
     
  9. hmscott

    hmscott Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    6,323
    Messages:
    19,577
    Likes Received:
    24,405
    Trophy Points:
    931
    So do both :)

    There are lots of articles and forum threads about this, you can find what you need through XTU docs, forums, and google:

    https://www.google.com/search?q=intel+xtu+command+line+options
     
    Djadit likes this.
  10. Djadit

    Djadit Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    102
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    56
    hmscott likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page