1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

How much RAM can I really put into my notebook?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by kisetsu17, Jul 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kisetsu17

    kisetsu17 Took me long enough

    Reputations:
    287
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    So Intel Ark says the PM45 can handle up to 8GB of RAM, I'm guessing this means two 4-GB chips..but my laptop spec sheets in the internet say that it could only max out 4GB of RAM.. so which is it?

    Plus, the spec sheet of PM45 says the board supports DDR3 RAM.. Would that mean I could also put in DDR3 here? Or are there more to it than just that?
     
  2. NAS Ghost

    NAS Ghost Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    297
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Your chipset by default can handle up to 8GB of ram, however, it seems like there was a limitation put on it to make it so that you can only have 4GB.

    As for the DDR3, no you can not use DDR3 ram. The chipset supports it, but your laptop was made to use DDR2, and DDR3 can not even fit into your DIMM slots.
     
  3. Mastershroom

    Mastershroom wat

    Reputations:
    3,833
    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    206
    It depends on what your motherboard supports. DDR2 and DDR3 require two different physical slots. If your system uses DDR2, then it cannot also use DDR3, regardless of what the chipset supports.
     
  4. kisetsu17

    kisetsu17 Took me long enough

    Reputations:
    287
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    How do I know if they put in a limitation? Can that be removed or something? lol
     
  5. sgogeta4

    sgogeta4 Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,389
    Messages:
    10,541
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    456
    Google around, your notebook might be able to use 8GB. Sometimes manuals are written based on the current technology then. If 4GB modules weren't released, then it might just say support for 2x2GB modules. At this point though, it would be a costly thing to try it, so unless you're running low on memory with 4GB, don't worry about it.
     
  6. sean473

    sean473 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    613
    Messages:
    6,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, u can insert DDR 3 ram in a DDR2 ram notebook, but because of difference in power usage etc , DDR 3 ram won't work. You can do this but u might fry ur comp(maybe). After all DDR2 and DDR3 ram have the same number of pins.
     
  7. moral hazard

    moral hazard Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,742
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    maybe they have the same number of pins, but they are not pin compatible.
     
  8. eyclai

    eyclai Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    25
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Your laptop most likely supports 8GB. It is more expensive for manufacturers to implement arbitary limitations, and it also adds no value whatsoever.

    I am writing this post on a E1405 that Dell says support 2GB maximum. I have 3GB and it recognises it.
     
  9. kisetsu17

    kisetsu17 Took me long enough

    Reputations:
    287
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Well, my orgmate's laptop is an Aspire 4315 I think, which says it supports 2GB, though he did put in a 2GB and a 512MB stick in it and it recognized it. Hmm might try.
     
  10. VipeR_930

    VipeR_930 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    That is incorrect. DDR2 and DDR3 SODIMMS do not have the same number of pins (200 vs. 204, respectively) and you cannot physically fit a DDR2 module into a DDR3 slot and vice versa due to the location of the little notch in the modules.
     
Similar Threads: much really
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades How much battery life do you really need? May 21, 2011
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades How much RAM can these processors really handle? Dec 8, 2010
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades C2D really that much better than CD? Aug 21, 2007
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades How Much Battery Does Undervolting Really Save? Jul 30, 2007
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades How much maximum RAM supported in Laptop LENOVO THINKPAD E530 3259T2Q Mar 19, 2015

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page