How much pagefile for 8GB of ram?

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by spacelordz, Jul 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spacelordz

    spacelordz Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have alienware m17x r2 with windows 7 pro. Will turning it off completly give me more fps in games? If I need to turn it on, how much do I need for 8GB of ram?
     
  2. katalin_2003

    katalin_2003 NBR Spectre Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    9,502
    Messages:
    5,569
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    231
    What do you run your OS from SSD or HDD?

    Some programs out there are written to utilize a certain amount of pagefile so if you run Windows off a HDD set a small value (turning it off won't make any difference) Windows will not access it if it doesn't need it.

    However, if you have a SSD turn it off !
     
  3. Pitabred

    Pitabred Linux geek con rat flail!

    Reputations:
    3,295
    Messages:
    7,113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    You won't hit the pagefile very often at all with 8GB of RAM. Maybe 1GB to account for crash logs and such.

    That said, if you have an SSD that's an even better drive for a swap file than spinning drives. But definitely cut down the size to 1-2GB or less no matter what.

    From the linked article:
     
    Lasted edited by : Jan 29, 2015
  4. atbnet

    atbnet Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    5,868
    Messages:
    5,889
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    206
    I'd get rid of it completely.
     
  5. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    661
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I have 4GB of RAM... running without a pagefile. No need for it, I've never had an Out Of Memory popup or anything.
     
  6. xeroxide

    xeroxide Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    487
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    some apps don't like this, i keep one just for those.
     
  7. Pitabred

    Pitabred Linux geek con rat flail!

    Reputations:
    3,295
    Messages:
    7,113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    It depends entirely on your use. I have 8GB on my desktop and I've run into low-memory situations when I have lots of things going on.
     
  8. spacelordz

    spacelordz Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have a 250 GB non ssd drive with win 7 pro 64 bit. Right now I put the pagefile at 512MB initial and 512MB max. Is this safe to use?
     
  9. JOSEA

    JOSEA NONE

    Reputations:
    4,013
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    131
    I have read up a lot due to this thread, I think 512 is fine depending on how may programs you run at the same time. You can always make it bigger if you get any errors related to Virtual memory (AKA page file, AKA swapfile)
    I should have asked 1st, how much ram do you have?
     
  10. spacelordz

    spacelordz Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am the op. I have 8 GB of ram. Will games like gta iv get more fps if the pagefile is very low to 0 MB?
     
Similar Threads: much pagefile
Forum Title Date
Windows OS and Software Why is Chrome so much faster than Firefox? Sep 9, 2014
Windows OS and Software TeraCopy is much slower than Windows Copy May 18, 2014
Windows OS and Software Everything takes too much time! Sep 27, 2013
Windows OS and Software as much as I hate Google Chrome, it pwns Firefox! Jul 25, 2013
Windows OS and Software How do you see a map of which files are taking up how much space on your HDD? May 4, 2013

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page