1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

how good is 4GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by TGeorge824, Dec 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TGeorge824

    TGeorge824 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    when i look at the options to customize notebooks alot of them have the option of 4GB of memory. how much faster doe sthis make my PC
     
  2. skywalker

    skywalker Business Notebook FTW!!

    Reputations:
    100
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,128
    What's your OS? 32bit OS wont take benefit of 4Gig RAM. To maximize your RAM, you have to use Windows XP Pro 64bit or Vista Ultimate 64bit.
    4GB RAM will help alot for video encoding task, 3D animation and rendering.
     
  3. allan_huang

    allan_huang Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    25
    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,030
    Speeding up your OS with ram tops out at around 2-2.5GB's.
    For games, video and photo editing, 3D animation, 4GB could really improve that.
     
  4. TGeorge824

    TGeorge824 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    im looking to get 64-bit vista ultimate so the 4GB of ram would really help?
     
  5. saleen_mustang

    saleen_mustang Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Do it if you have more money then brains but if your not rich dont bother, spend it on more importent stuff, you can always upgrade it later when ram is cheaper but its much harder and epesive to ugrade your processsor. Spend it on vidio card if you game alot.
     
  6. justanormalguy

    justanormalguy Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    117
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Well, it depends on what you intend on doing with your laptop mostly...We can't tell you how much of a performance upgrade you'll get with 4gb, unless we know this...

    eg. 4gb wont help with word processing
     
  7. TGeorge824

    TGeorge824 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    I plan on doing some moderate gaming along with school use. So you think I should get 2GB of Ram and then buy another 2 Gigs later when its cheap?
     
  8. maditude

    maditude Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    132
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    341
    NewEgg.com is selling 2GB sodimm's for under $40, which is pretty darn cheap. As for whether or not one needs 4GB, I would say you'll be fine with 2GB. If you're using a 32-bit OS, then 3GB is the maximum that will be put to use. I used Vista-Biz 64-bit with 2GB for about two weeks, and it was decent, added a second 2GB chip, and it was a little bit better. Switched to XP (32-bit), and it was WAAAAAY better. ;-)
     
  9. orthorim

    orthorim Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    At current RAM prices, why not buy it. It's not going to get a lot cheaper - RAM standards change all the time so the future cheapest RAM will likely not fit in your laptop anymore because it will be using some different standard. Just look at current RAM prices for 3 or 4 year old laptops - way more expensive than for new machines.

    If you are using XP, don't bother - XP does not even take full advantage of 2GB so I would not think the 64 bit version could do a lot with 4. Not because it can't address it, it's more because it simply wasn't optimized for that much RAM, and frankly the disk cache logic in XP sucks.

    If you are using Vista or OS X, definitely go for 4GB. I imagine Vista being a lot smarter about what to do with lots of RAM, sort of like OS X. That will be even more true in the future when they have ironed out all the bugs that currently plague this OS.

    I have 4GB on Mac OS X and it definitely makes a difference. I routinely run several heavyweight programs simultaneously and nothing can faze it. Keep in mind that if the OS is halfway decent, then all the RAM that you are not using gets used as disk cache. More disk cache == better performance.
     
  10. MYK

    MYK Newbie NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    447
    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,792
    3GB is my lucky number. I initially intended to go to vista ultimate 64bit with 4GB ram on my S1, then I decided to stick to XP Pro for a while longer. So I swapped the rams from my 2GB X60s, to have 3GB in each machine. Same brand, same speed.

    And that's why I'm still a newbie. Dual channel, dual shmannel :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page