1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

How do I know if I am logged in as administrator ?

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by Laptopaddict, Aug 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Laptopaddict

    Laptopaddict Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    When I bought my computer I had to register a username and password , say it was X

    when I go to "switch user" I see "Samsung" and "X" , which 1 of the 2 id admin ?
     
  2. CooLMinE

    CooLMinE Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,834
    Control panel -> User accounts

    If the account is register as admin it will say it under the name of the account at the right.
     
  3. Laptopaddict

    Laptopaddict Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    818

    Ok, found it, thanks !

    Is admin level, the highest control level you can have on your PC ?
     
  4. CooLMinE

    CooLMinE Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,834
    Pretty much yea :)
     
  5. Laptopaddict

    Laptopaddict Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Well, it says it is administrator but still I get messages when I want to save a file or unzip that I do not have admin privileges ?!
     
  6. CooLMinE

    CooLMinE Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,834
    You mean UAC ? (when the screen gets a bit darker and asks you if you want to allow that program to bla bla bla) ?
     
  7. Laptopaddict

    Laptopaddict Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    818

    No, it says I need admin authority if I want to save in that location.
     
  8. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,972
    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,791
    that's because, even while you're the admin, you're not supposed to act as admin all day long. so you can't save to places you just shouldn't do. save to desktop and move the file to your target of choise, and UAC will pop up, and ask if you're sure to mess with your system. agree, and it gets placed there.

    if you have some place that you have to access often, check my sig for some fixing of rights-issues.

    and yes, even the admin shouldn't behave as an admin all day long and be allowed to just mess everything up with every step he does. the admin has the right to do so. but with right follows responsibility, and that means you don't get the right by default, but have to learn how to use it when needed.
     
  9. comrade_commissar7

    comrade_commissar7 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    87
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Go to control panel, choose user accounts, and you can all the users displayed below with their labels as "administrator", etc.
     
Similar Threads: logged administrator
Forum Title Date
Windows OS and Software Event id:11 is logged too often when i plug a USB drive... Jun 30, 2011
Windows OS and Software Solved - logged in! :D Jun 26, 2009
Windows OS and Software set up remote control while logged out May 20, 2009
Windows OS and Software enabling built-in administrator account during clean install Feb 8, 2014
Windows OS and Software Best way to reset my administrator password Jan 12, 2012

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page