1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

How do I check which Bios im running (m15x)

Discussion in 'Alienware' started by shaknbakenyc, Feb 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shaknbakenyc

    shaknbakenyc Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same as subject, thanks
     
  2. Euquility

    Euquility Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    198
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    when you turn on your computer go in to setup. depending on what motherboard you have the key you press is different but it should tell you when you first power on your laptop.

    It should have your revision there
     
  3. Oceanus

    Oceanus Ambassador

    Reputations:
    268
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Either do what Euquility suggests or do the following:

    #1. Download CPU-Z here.
    #2. Click on the Mainboard tab and look under BIOS.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. The_Moo™

    The_Moo™ Here we go again.....

    Reputations:
    3,973
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    13,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    i think on m17 its f2 or f10 ..i forgot and if i turn it off now i can tell you lol
     
  5. whizzo

    whizzo Advocatus Diaboli

    Reputations:
    769
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    except shake's got an m15x :)
     
  6. HAK Devil

    HAK Devil Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    57
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Yeah just go in your bios when you boot up your computer and it will tell you the bios that you have :D
     
  7. findvikas

    findvikas Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    272
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Ahh... I thought it was simple.
    Hit Run->MSINFO32 and you got it.
     
  8. shaknbakenyc

    shaknbakenyc Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    QuantavX36, could i be? Does formatting erase your bios to the older version or does it stay on whatever was the lastest you installed?
    I was thinking if I formatted that it wold go back to X32
     
  9. julian-nold

    julian-nold DELETED

    Reputations:
    596
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    The bios is on the mainboard ...so if you want to chance you need to falsh it ... formating chances othing at the Bios

    Greetings
    Julian
     

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page