How can I reset my acer aspire to factory settings.

Discussion in 'Acer' started by dionne_woodward9, Mar 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dionne_woodward9

    dionne_woodward9 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi all,
    I have an Acer Aspire 3050 Laptop.
    A while back I had problems with something called MicroBill, I was informed it was a virus and I tried everything to get rid of it. Nothing worked so I re-loaded windows xp onto my computer. This worked and cleared the Virus, however I then lost most of my drivers. I got most of them back from the acer web site, but the wireless drivers do not work for my laptop. The built in wireless switch is totally dead and I am now using a Wireless Card I bought from the local store.
    My sister also has an Aspire and has had other problems and has been recommended to restore her computer to factory settings using Alt + F10, her problems are now solved, so I thought I would try the same thing. However no matter how hard I try, it just won't work. I did have a back up disc which I tried to use before I reloaded the OS, but the disc was blank :( Is it because I've loaded a new OS that I can't use Alt + F10. I've tried contacting acer for the drivers and they say there is nothing they can do because I aren't using the original OS. And they say I can get the drivers from the website, I've tried all wireless drivers on the website for my model of laptop and the wireless switch still does nothing.
    Can anyone help. I'm no computer wizz but I can follow instructions, it's just no instructions I've recieved so far haved helped me.
    Apart from reloading windows XP I have not changed any Hardware or Software.
     
  2. hoggie

    hoggie old boy

    Reputations:
    316
    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    you probably have the right drivers but for the wifi button too work you need the Launch manager for the button to function.
    if this works please post back and let us know

    Cheers Phil
     
  3. gino_lee

    gino_lee Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Assuming you didn't completely wipe your Hard Drive when you installed your WinXP and the hidden partition is still there, then you should be able to gain access to it.

    I don't remember how that's done because I've always just done everything myself. I'm almost sure it says which keys to press before bootup in the manual somewhere.

    You can also try using wireless drivers for vista from the acer site. or just get all the wireless drivers for your line of notebook and try it one at a time. or like Hoggie says. play with the wifi button.
     
  4. hoggie

    hoggie old boy

    Reputations:
    316
    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
  5. dionne_woodward9

    dionne_woodward9 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hoggie

    Thank you so much you have solved my problem, I can't believe it was something so simple as downloading the launch manager. :) :) :) :) :)
    I'm so happy:notworthy: :notworthy: your the best. Thanks so much.
     
  6. hoggie

    hoggie old boy

    Reputations:
    316
    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    its a pleasure :D

    so glad it worked
     
  7. sergsk8

    sergsk8 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hey hoggie...i've been trying to reset my acer aspire to factory settings and ...well first of all...mine's a desktop, but i don't know who else to ask, acer's website is down.

    i tried the f10 dealio and it's asking me for a password and i don't know if i have it and if i do, I don't know where.

    could you help?
     
  8. Full-English

    Full-English Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,227
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Are you pressing ALT+F10 on the acer screen just as your computer boots???
     
  9. Awake

    Awake Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    viruses...hate em...if you thought all those virus makers got jobs ad programmers to make computer programs better u'd think we put a lil more advanced in computer techonolgy.
     
  10. kwindover

    kwindover Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have an Acer Aspire desktop T180 and i need to reset back to factory setting and need help. I belive i have a virus and cant open files from anywhere. Can someone please help? :( :(
     

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page