1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

How can i find my password to my router?

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by dondon534, Jul 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dondon534

    dondon534 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    157
    I think my fmaily forgot my password and im trying to host games in WC3.

    when use this "192.168.1.1," it asked me for my name and pass. I thought it wold just be admin in the password but its not. How can i find out?
     
  2. flashram

    flashram Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    There's no way to find it out if you forgot it. You have to reset the router to factory defaults most likely.
     
  3. Mark

    Mark Desktop Debugger

    Reputations:
    1,288
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,172
    Check out this page. It has a list of default names/passwords for numerous routers. Did you set up your router or did someone else (like Comcast, or whoever you internet provider is)? If someone else set it up, the passwords may be different than default. I know this is the case with my router because comcast installed it.

    http://www.phenoelit-us.org/dpl/dpl.html

    As long as you left it as the default name, these should work for you. Good luck! :)
     
  4. CodeMonkeyX

    CodeMonkeyX Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    But yeah if anyone changed the default password, then you will have to look in your manual about how to reset your router to all default specs. Then all your setting including the password will be erased.
     
  5. Mark

    Mark Desktop Debugger

    Reputations:
    1,288
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,172
    FYI, I just reset my own router in fact because it got screwed when I tried to change the password.

    For linksys routers, and I am guessing this will be the same for most routers, you just need to hold down the reset button in the back for 30 seconds or so. Then you will get your default passwords back.
     
  6. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,017
    I suspect that Comcast and Verizon and such also alter the firmware to ensure that a reset does not un-do their doings.
     
  7. Mark

    Mark Desktop Debugger

    Reputations:
    1,288
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,172
    Well, kind of. I just tried to change the password to my comcast router, but it froze up and then the original and new password both didn't work. I could reset the router, and it just went back to default comcast password. Seems they don't want you to change the password.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page