How '64 bit proof' is the Dell Inspiron 6400?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by The Streets, Jan 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Streets

    The Streets Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Fair enough. :)
     
  2. andy_tok

    andy_tok Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Just wondering, will 64 bit vista give a much better performance than the 32bit version? Especially when the program itself is 32 bit.
     
  3. The Streets

    The Streets Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    An interesting question. I too would like an answer to that.

    By the way, how can tell which programs are/aren't 32 or 64 bit???
     
  4. Jalf

    Jalf Comrade Santa

    Reputations:
    2,883
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Usually, no, performance will be almost exactly the same.
    If the program itself is 32-bit, it *will* be almost exactly the same.
    (Technically, there will be a tiny performance loss because a small amount of emulation has to take place to allow the OS to talk to the app. But on the other hand, OS calls may be slightly more efficient, which also means you'll regain a bit of performance. Overall, performance should be almost identical)

    if the program itself is 64-bit? Hard to say, but I'd expect a small performance boost. (Say, 5-10%). Of course that varies depending on the application, though.

    Easiest way may be to simply look at what you're installing. If you download the app, it'll probably have a separate link to a 64-bit download. And the installer may say so as well.

    But usually, it doesn't really matter.
     
  5. andy_tok

    andy_tok Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    So it'll be wiser to upgrade to the 32-bit vista instead of the 64 bit version at this moment?
     
  6. Jalf

    Jalf Comrade Santa

    Reputations:
    2,883
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Well, none of what I said indicated that 32-bit would be *better*. Just that usually, 64-bit won't be faster. So that's no reason to stick with 32-bit.

    However, as others have mentioned before, not every hardware manufacturer has drivers available for 64-bit OS'es yet, so if you need to use any of that, yes, it might be better to stick with 32-bit. (As with Windows X64, this mostly applies to "external" hardware such as scanners, cameras or printers. For all the "internal" hardware, you can be pretty sure to find drivers)
     
  7. The Streets

    The Streets Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    The only external hardware I can see myself using is an iPod. Maybe a USB mouse. Not much more than that though.
     
  8. conejeitor

    conejeitor Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Well, but I wonder if it would actually run the nice features of Vista, like Aero. Inpiron 6400 comes with an Ati x1300 or x1400. Will those cards make it for Aero?
     
  9. Dreamer

    Dreamer The Bad Boy

    Reputations:
    2,699
    Messages:
    5,621
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    What exactly are you asking?

    Even an integrated card like the GMA 950 runs Aero with no problems.
     
  10. Iceman0124

    Iceman0124 More news from nowhere

    Reputations:
    1,133
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    The main problems will come down the line with the 6400 and a 64 bit OS, as the platform matures, and more memory capacity is required, the 2gb max of the 6400, being only half of the max limit of the 32 bit, will be a problem. 64 bit basic can use 8, home premium can use 16, and the rest up to 128.
     
Similar Threads: proof' Dell
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades How a newbie can upgrade SSD (in the right way) on Dell XPS 13 2015? Jul 7, 2015
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Dell XPS M1710 Modification problems Jun 25, 2015
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Upgrade CPU for Dell 1545 Inspiron Jun 15, 2015
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Dell Laptop With 2 Headphone Outs - Question May 10, 2015
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Dial-up modem for Dell E6530 Apr 14, 2015

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page