1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

How '64 bit proof' is the Dell Inspiron 6400?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by The Streets, Jan 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Streets

    The Streets Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I keep hearing all this talk about 64 bit drivers, and incompatability with Vista Home Premium, and so on. So, first things first, what are people talking about exactly? And how future proof is the Dell Inspiron 6400 in this respect, given the range of component parts Dell offer for the machine?
     
  2. Gator

    Gator Go Gators!

    Reputations:
    890
    Messages:
    1,889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Eh? If it comes with a Core 2 Duo or another 64 bit processor, it will be as 64 bit proof as the next machine. I assume the components in this 6400 will be pretty generic of Dell's offerings, in which case you should be just fine if you purchase one for Vista 64.

    EDIT: Woot, Post #1000! Somebody congratulate or scold me!
     
  3. yuio

    yuio NBR Assistive Tec. Tec.

    Reputations:
    634
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    congradulations! lol :)

    core2 = 64 bit
    any amd = 64bit
    64 bit is 64 bit, there is no partial 64 bit...
     
  4. usapatriot

    usapatriot Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    3,263
    Messages:
    7,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Safe until 128-bit becomes the new.
     
  5. vespoli

    vespoli 402 NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    1,134
    Messages:
    3,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105

    ;)

    OP: As long as you get a 64-bit chip as mentioned you'll be 64-bit compatible. Any core2duo or any modern AMD will satisfy that requirement.
     
  6. The Streets

    The Streets Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Excellent. So I shouldn't have any problems with incompatable GPU's or programs and all the other scare stories I've been hearing?
     
  7. Gator

    Gator Go Gators!

    Reputations:
    890
    Messages:
    1,889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    You may have driver incompatibilities, in which case you'll need to download off your hardware manufacturer's site for the latest Vista driver. Sometimes they don't have them, and you're in the crapper until they make one available.
     
  8. Padmé

    Padmé NBR Super Pink Princess

    Reputations:
    4,674
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Congrats on reaching your 1000 post. You are valued here.
     
  9. The Streets

    The Streets Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Care to go deeper? Driver incompatablities? Which are most susceptible, particularly with the Inspiron 6400?
     
  10. vespoli

    vespoli 402 NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    1,134
    Messages:
    3,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105

    I think what he is getting at is that right now, not all vendors have released drivers for Vista. In most cases either Dell has released vista drivers (if you want to see for yourself, go to www.support.dell.com ) Or the vendor has drivers or the XP drivers will work with it. Most software works right out of the box with Vista--better support than XP. I would not worry about incompatibilities.
     
  11. The Streets

    The Streets Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Fair enough. :)
     
  12. andy_tok

    andy_tok Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Just wondering, will 64 bit vista give a much better performance than the 32bit version? Especially when the program itself is 32 bit.
     
  13. The Streets

    The Streets Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    An interesting question. I too would like an answer to that.

    By the way, how can tell which programs are/aren't 32 or 64 bit???
     
  14. Jalf

    Jalf Comrade Santa

    Reputations:
    2,883
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Usually, no, performance will be almost exactly the same.
    If the program itself is 32-bit, it *will* be almost exactly the same.
    (Technically, there will be a tiny performance loss because a small amount of emulation has to take place to allow the OS to talk to the app. But on the other hand, OS calls may be slightly more efficient, which also means you'll regain a bit of performance. Overall, performance should be almost identical)

    if the program itself is 64-bit? Hard to say, but I'd expect a small performance boost. (Say, 5-10%). Of course that varies depending on the application, though.

    Easiest way may be to simply look at what you're installing. If you download the app, it'll probably have a separate link to a 64-bit download. And the installer may say so as well.

    But usually, it doesn't really matter.
     
  15. andy_tok

    andy_tok Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    So it'll be wiser to upgrade to the 32-bit vista instead of the 64 bit version at this moment?
     
  16. Jalf

    Jalf Comrade Santa

    Reputations:
    2,883
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Well, none of what I said indicated that 32-bit would be *better*. Just that usually, 64-bit won't be faster. So that's no reason to stick with 32-bit.

    However, as others have mentioned before, not every hardware manufacturer has drivers available for 64-bit OS'es yet, so if you need to use any of that, yes, it might be better to stick with 32-bit. (As with Windows X64, this mostly applies to "external" hardware such as scanners, cameras or printers. For all the "internal" hardware, you can be pretty sure to find drivers)
     
  17. The Streets

    The Streets Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    The only external hardware I can see myself using is an iPod. Maybe a USB mouse. Not much more than that though.
     
  18. conejeitor

    conejeitor Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Well, but I wonder if it would actually run the nice features of Vista, like Aero. Inpiron 6400 comes with an Ati x1300 or x1400. Will those cards make it for Aero?
     
  19. Dreamer

    Dreamer The Bad Boy

    Reputations:
    2,699
    Messages:
    5,621
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    What exactly are you asking?

    Even an integrated card like the GMA 950 runs Aero with no problems.
     
  20. Iceman0124

    Iceman0124 More news from nowhere

    Reputations:
    1,133
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    The main problems will come down the line with the 6400 and a 64 bit OS, as the platform matures, and more memory capacity is required, the 2gb max of the 6400, being only half of the max limit of the 32 bit, will be a problem. 64 bit basic can use 8, home premium can use 16, and the rest up to 128.
     
Similar Threads: proof' Dell
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Dell 17 3721 - any chance of upgrading its 17.3-in screen to IPS? Dec 30, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Screen Upgrade for Dell Inspiron 13 7000? Dec 8, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Fan stopped working Dell Vostro 1000 Nov 21, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades [HELP] LCD / SCREEN upgrade for Dell E6400 / E6410 Nov 10, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Help identifying expansion placeholder on a Dell laptop daughterboard Oct 30, 2014

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page