1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Help with configuration - DELL Inspiron 1420

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Farid, Oct 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Farid

Farid Newbie

Reputations:
    Hello everyone.

I am leaning toward the DELL Inspiron 1420 because it is the only new notebook I have seen so far (been to Staples, Best Buy, Future Shop) that has a matte/non-glossy screen and because it seems to be a nice combination of budget (~ $1000+tax), portability and style.

Since I am a new and novice user, I could really use your expertise regarding some of the questions I have. :eek:

Although I will only perform basic tasks such as MS Office, Internet, listening to music, watching movies etc, I am a bit concerned that it will have enough juice to run Windows Vista smoothly. I have tried an Inspiron 1420 with similar processor but with integrated graphics & 1 GB memory and it lagged pretty bad so I am wondering if the same will happen with my configuration and if so, what I could change to avoid that.

How long will the 6-cell battery last?. I need a minimum of 3 hours.

Is there any noticeable increase in performance in getting a 7200 rpm hard drive instead of a 5400 rpm or will the only noticeable change be more heat and less battery life?

Also, I would appreciate if guys could give me your thoughts regarding the Inspiron 1420 and my configuration in general.

Thanks in advance. :)

• Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T5450 (2MB cache/1.66GHz/667Mhz FSB)
    • Windows Vista® Home Premium Edition
    • Anti-glare, widescreen 14.1 inch display (1280 x 800)
    • 2GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz, 2 Dimm
    • 160G 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
    • 128MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 8400M GS