Help request: Mobile dGPU passthrough

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by lost_0x10, Mar 7, 2018.

  1. lost_0x10

    lost_0x10 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Machine: Clevo P650HP6
    Issue: Need a 1060 6G vBIOS
    Additional info: using vfio-pci, kernel 4.15.7-1, SPICE for display.

    I have a VM setup on QEMU and stuff runs ok at the moment except the NVIDIA GPU throwing "error 43". Possible fix is passing the dGPU vBIOS to the VM on launching it but extracting it on my system has proven difficult.

    I'd like someone to send me their vBIOS dump, better yet upload it to techpowerup or preferred vBIOS repository.
     
  2. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    573
    Messages:
    3,891
    Likes Received:
    1,543
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Why don't you take GPU-Z and dump it yourself?
     
  3. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    In systems with vBIOS in the BIOS GPU-Z doesn't/cant dump it.

    The normal route is dump BIOS, then extract VBIOS module from the BIOS.
     
  4. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    573
    Messages:
    3,891
    Likes Received:
    1,543
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Sorry, wat. I've never had any issues with dumping vBios with GPU-Z. My 1060 dumped no problem. Sometimes GPU-Z can be a jerk and tell something like "hardware not supported" or any other kind of error, which a restart usually fixes.
     
  5. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    You never had the sadness of seeing this?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    573
    Messages:
    3,891
    Likes Received:
    1,543
    Trophy Points:
    231
    As already stated, I've seen it couple of times, nothing a restart didn't fix. When I tried to dump my 1060 BIOS the first time I had this exact error, then I simply restartet and tried again, and suddenly got myself a successful dump.
     
  7. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    7,518
    Messages:
    47,172
    Likes Received:
    12,732
    Trophy Points:
    931
    You have a P370EM IIRC which uses an MXM module with a dedicated vbios.
     
  8. lost_0x10

    lost_0x10 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  9. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Just use fptw, easy to do, dump the whole BIOS(or as much as your system allows).

    Then post the bin file here.
     
  10. lost_0x10

    lost_0x10 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I did dump the the system BIOS but was unable to find out which was the vBIOS from all that nonsense, tried with Mobile Pascal TDP Tweaker(MPTT), maybe you guys can show me a better way.

    Resorted to this command:
    sudo sh -c 'echo 1 > /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000:01:00.0/rom; cat /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000:01:00.0/rom > 1060.rom'​

    Do note the GPU had to be loaded with vfio-pci for the QEMU VM, trying to execute the same command with the GPU off (by bbswitch or whatever), or on (optirun, primusrun,...) yielded an I/O error.

    Some stuff I tried to solve "error 43":
    1. Confirmed the dumped vBIOS with MPTT.
    2. Created a version of the vBIOS dump with modified limits.
    3. Passed the unmodified vBIOS to GOPupd(change it to UEFI),
    4. Created a modified version of the UEFI vBIOS.
    5. Verified the UEFI state of the UEFI vBIOSes with rom-parser.
    6. nvflash reports a size mismatch for the UEFI vBIOS.
    Launched the VM with the four vBIOSes I had, error 43 was still there.

    Edit: my dGU is mapped onto the address "01:00.0"
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  11. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Virtualbox in Windows doesn't allow PCIe pass through, so theres that.

    Grab AFUWIN, click save, save it, and upload the file here.
     
  12. lost_0x10

    lost_0x10 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Am running Arch linux with Windows 10 in QEMU, will update on solving "error 43".

    Passing a GOP'd BIOS to the VM: doesn't show up(as UEFI) in the VM's GPU-Z instance.
    Passing coreboot having the GOP'd BIOS as optional during its compile: doesn't show up(as UEFI) in the VM's GPU-Z instance.

    EDIT: Clarified the not showing up
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
  13. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    7,518
    Messages:
    47,172
    Likes Received:
    12,732
    Trophy Points:
    931
    What CPU did you go with by the way?
     
  14. lost_0x10

    lost_0x10 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Not sure about the question, so here you go:
    Actual hardware: 7700HQ
    KVM cpu: host(7700HQ), 1 socket, 4 cores, 1 thread​
     
Loading...

Share This Page