HELP NEW Compaq Presario CQ40-120AX Video/Display Problem???

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by vEnOmZkI, Nov 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vEnOmZkI

    vEnOmZkI Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Oh no! just bought a new Compaq Presario Laptop and when i opened it windows boot up already and some setup thingy then the DISPLAY just went HAYWIRED,like jumbled with lines every where????What the F.....whats wrong with it,then manage to restart and went on with the installation of the drivers and then it happened again lines,jumbled displays.....until it happened many times already.....(Attached some pictures ,sorry bout the crappy quality),please let me know if i have a bad unit with a bad videocard???

    thanks ye all,

    cheers
     
  2. vEnOmZkI

    vEnOmZkI Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    forgot to add the pictures....well here it is:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. vEnOmZkI

    vEnOmZkI Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    and also by the way.....the back end of the laptop the glossy part with the compaq logo.....does not have any plastic protector that should come with every brand new laptop is it not???and the windows authentic piece of paper is already slightly burnt/heted showing a little outline of the windows logo.....dont know if that is normal.....coz my thinking it only goes like that when you turn on the unit for quite some time and heat etches the burnt thingy logo right????so it must have been used already????

    anyways,

    thanks a lot
     
  4. kuncheesh

    kuncheesh Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    82
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    i donno whether the unit is used or not, however it seems that you have a hardware problem. try reinstalling windows, if that doesnt count go for a replacement....
     
  5. vEnOmZkI

    vEnOmZkI Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    let me try recovering.......keep you posted

    thanks dude
     
  6. kxc1279

    kxc1279 Newbie

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi, I had something similar to this with a MacBook. It was resolved when I reseated the memory(it was loose) and the screen was just as you described on your Presario. If not the memory then I do agree that the video card is your culprit and to take it back. Good luck.
     
  7. vEnOmZkI

    vEnOmZkI Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    is there a problem with the video driver as well???the latest from hp website is currently installed....but still it gives out those problems.....should i try the other newer modified video drivers out there???

    !!!getting back to the plastic cover protector to avoid scratches on the glossy part of the front or back side of the screen....which is really missing.....that would be an odd thing right,makes you doubt if it is brand new or a demo unit or just plain used one right???all the laptops ive seen even the demo ones still have their protective plastic at the back still on.....dont know why mine dont have this!!!!tsk tsk tsk....i think i have been dooped....to tell you also the box is sealed and this thing happens.....they must have had a seal tape spare to cover it up again or whatever.....cant tell anymore whats right and wrong anymore now a days.......

    thanks

    cheers
     
  8. vEnOmZkI

    vEnOmZkI Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    you are a great savior man......originaly the laptop only comes with a stock 1x2gb ddr2 ram......but they have a promo that gives me a second free 1x2gb ddr2 ram,so i let them installed it before starting my laptop........then went home this problem arises and still persisted......then i tried removing that extra ram they put in and voila!never had that problem anymore until now........so i guess the fault there is that freakin' extra 2gig of ram they put in.....which has a generic name only(NCP Platinum)....whatever that is.....from a 1x2gb transcend original stock ram which is the original ram installed and came in with the unit(now working flawlessly by its own).......
    darn thought it had a video hardware problem!!!

    thanks dude.....save me quite some trouble there...........

    ............how do i give you rep points???lols

    but wait a sec....this laptop CAN support 4gb of RAM???updated the bios to the latest one.......will try to put in the susppected generic faulty RAM....and see if it still gives me problem...........cross my fingers.....

    by the way the COMPAQ PRESARIO CQ40-120AX SPECS:

    2.2Ghz AMD Turion X2 Ultra 64 Dual Core
    250gb HDD
    ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3450 256mb RAM
    2048 MB DDR2 RAM
    Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
    14.1" Display
    Lightscribe DVD Writer


    cheers
     
  9. vEnOmZkI

    vEnOmZkI Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    FYI: Replaced the generic RAM to a Kingston one.....and VOILA.....worked like a charm now.......2x2gb = 4gb RAM.....running smoothly.....

    thanks everyone

    cheers
     
  10. vEnOmZkI

    vEnOmZkI Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    FYI: Replaced the generic RAM to a Kingston one.....and VOILA.....worked like a charm now.......2x2gb = 4gb RAM.....running smoothly.....

    thanks everyone

    cheers
     
Similar Threads: HELP Compaq
Forum Title Date
HP & Compaq Help with old laptop Compaq LTE 5380 Jul 12, 2014
HP & Compaq HP Compaq Presario CQ61-325SQ Need Help! May 24, 2010
HP & Compaq Help: Compaq Presario F700 (F730US) Wireless LAN Problems Apr 19, 2010
HP & Compaq Compaq R3000 Lcd Brightness Help Required Please Feb 19, 2010
HP & Compaq Compaq CQ50-110US black screen - help Jan 18, 2010

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page