Help! I bricked my G73 with vBIOS

Discussion in 'ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum' started by Quagmire LXIX, Jun 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Quagmire LXIX

Quagmire LXIX Have Laptop, Will Travel!

Reputations:
    So I'm studying the vBIOS threads and became interested when the Overdrive was enabled along with ziddy's voltage adjustment. I ran into a few hurdles when using RBE and the boot usb drive and that should have been enough to make me stop, but it didn't.

I made a backup of my original vBIOS and saved on another computer. All I did was try to change the voltage on my original vBIOS and flash using RBE and Winflash (I know, we can discuss how boneheaded it was to flash in windows later). The flash process started (corrected: 3/4 ways finished), but it promted "Fail", the damage was already done I guess.

Now when I boot, lights come on like normal, but no display and then keyboard lights go out like normal when you wait for windows to load. If I hit CTRL-ALT-DELETE while in this state, there is a little action by the keyboard lights coming on and the optical drive spinning. It's like it's stuck on a DOS error message and the C-A-D is a reboot.

Can anyone help a blind man through this...Please :(

Thanks.
    --------------------------------------------------

Update #1: I'm at my wits end, I am passing the torch to Ken@GenTechPC for some hands on mojo. If it's going to get properly done, he's the man to do it.

Summary: I had WinFlash crash 3/4 way through with a Fail prompt. Frozen screen leading to a forced shutdown. Many bootable USB and CD attempts using great advice from the community and a lot of video conference help from premudriy, it is very stubborn in it's behavior.

Ken came to 2 great points on pg7:

to which I added:

I also add 3) the user isn't doing it right. Hands on Ken will nulify #3.

I'll keep this OP updated and maybe we can have a line ready to get someone out of this rabbit hole.