**HELP: HP dv8000 memory upgrade.**

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by chelle, Nov 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chelle

    chelle Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi guys,

    I also have a HP DV800 and i want to upgrade the memory.Currently it has 512 mb, but i'm not pretty sure what is the maximum that i can upgrade.

    Is it 1GB or 2GB?

    I ask this because one time somebody told me that there are 2 versions (or something like that) of this laptop. One has DDR and other one DDR2. I'm not really familiar with those terms. Can somebody explain to me which one can i do?

    I was checking on EBAY, to buy them but i'm not pretty sure:
    http://computers.shop.ebay.com/Comp...n&_armrs=1&_from=R40&_ipg=&_trksid=p1638.m120

    Thanks.
     
  2. brianstretch

    brianstretch Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    440
    Messages:
    3,667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    IIRC, dv8000z's (AMD) have DDR and dv8000t's (Intel) have DDR2. I think you'll be limited to 2GB in either case. For AMD notebooks, older ones especially, I recommend sticking with Crucial brand memory.
     
  3. chelle

    chelle Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Mine is AMD turion 64, should i get two 1GB sticks then?
     
  4. brianstretch

    brianstretch Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    440
    Messages:
    3,667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Yup, two 1GB PC3200 (DDR400) SODIMMs.
     
  5. chelle

    chelle Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    But i thought mine use PC2700?.....I'm confused now.
     
  6. brianstretch

    brianstretch Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    440
    Messages:
    3,667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    It might have come with PC2700 but it's capable of using PC3200. Mine came with PC3200 IIRC. Unless there's a dramatic price difference I'd get PC3200.
     
  7. zacharyh687

    zacharyh687 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    also a quick note the DV8000t with the intel processor will support up to 4GB and the kingston memory finder and hp says 2GB max... you can get 4GB if you have the latest bios on the intel powered dv8000 i have 3GB in mine as it does not have a 64bit processor just a quick note for anyone interested :) ya i agree with brianstretch stick with crucial they have great ram...
     
Similar Threads: **HELP dv8000
Forum Title Date
HP & Compaq **HELP** Compaq Presario V2000 Charger Melting Problem Dec 9, 2008
HP & Compaq Dv8000 & Zd8000 May 28, 2010
HP & Compaq DV8000 slave drive? May 7, 2009
HP & Compaq DV8000t randomly reboots... help Apr 3, 2009
HP & Compaq DV8000 suddenly the secondary display doesnt work, Mar 5, 2009

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page