Hello and my AW 13r3, naked pics inside, NSFG

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by forbyefor_gold_eagle, Jun 9, 2018.

  1. forbyefor_gold_eagle

    forbyefor_gold_eagle Newbie

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    6
    (This is a part copy of my Reddit post)
    Been wanting to join this forum for a bit.

    Bought this little guy after a ton of research and wanting. My last laptop with 3317u i5 was getting pretty 'long in the tooth' so I ordered an Alienware 13r3 with kaby lake and OLED. So far this thing is amazing. The OLED is awe-inspiring to view and is relief for my tired and aging eyes.

    I'm not an expert by any means, I read here and other places to learn so rather than post any solution threads, I'll just post my experiences and what I've found.

    So as ordered:

    AW13r3
    • i7 7700HQ
    • gtx 1060
    • 8GB RAM
    • OLED
    • Killer 1550
    • 512GB (came with Samsung PM981, nice freebie!)

    Temps:

    I decided to repaste with Conductonaut and make the panasonic PGS heatpipe for the PCH (following notebookreview user LM64792's instructions, thx wherever you are) because...well why would anyone not want to do this? As long as your thumbs aren't coconuts and you've been trained on the old screwdriver properly...I am accustomed to working on cars and I'm known to take a lot of stuff apart to figure it out so I guess this kind of stuff doesn't bother me.

    I ran a benchmark, I think it was FireStrike or TimeSpy before the Surgery and after-the same test and recorded the temps and data with HWINFO64 (graphs below). Honestly, I don't think from what I've seen yet, that the repaste was absolutely necessary. The highest temp spikes that are concerning, are in the CPU and they're only momentary spikes that correspond to higher frequency and use. No worries, like I said, I live to tear things apart and figure out what makes them tick. None-the-less, temps are way better with the Conductonaut and PGS, as expected. You'll note the core differential (between the cores) is noticeably more 'tight' and that's probably a very good result. and overall the temps are about 10-15 Celsius lower on average. Not much of a gamer-there's a lot more you can do with this type of machine, so not sure if I'd see more consistent and extreme temps during several hour gaming sessions.

    Color:

    I decided to mod my colors a bit. Not into the 'rainbow' look. I'm a proud 'Redneck Geek' and where I come from...well let's just say 'Rainbow' has long been out of style, LOL.

    Camo colors, I love. I suspect the FPS gamers here might like that kind of color scheme as well, so First I tried to do FDE -flat dark earth. After hours of messing with the RGB hex codes, it's either a sickening shade of lavander or looks like a baby sh** apples. So my search continued. Finally, I figured out an awesome, sort of, 'electric ODG (olive drab green)' that looks great with the Windows 10 black and camo color scheme. So I'll share the code here: Replace all applicable zones in the file with:

    FF193300 (alienwareFX ODG)

    edit-almost forgot Battery:

    At first couple of away from home sessions I was getting about 2-3hours of battery life even after adjusting all the power setting in control panel. Then I discovered the issue. The major drain on battery life is the 3d settings in the nVidia control panel. Probably everyone else has figure this out but the auto-select option is the one you want to use. Then Configuring the individual applications, benchmarks and other programs to use only the 1060 AND the ones that don't need it to use the integrated GPU is a must. Then change all the settings in Power options in Control Panel and in the AW Command Center. And in the options> battery menu. Now Windows Batt. meter reads any where from 7:50 to over 10 hrs on a full charge. Realistically that's probably about 7.5 hrs at moderate productivity use. But if your use is low enough I can confidently say I've made it to almost 9 hrs.

    RAM:

    I wanted some higher speed lower latency memory so I cheaped out when I ordered the 13 and just got 8GB. I ordered Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 2666 BLS2K8G4S26BFSD but it did not run at the advertised speed. So back it went. In comes Kingston, Hyperx 16GB(2x8) 2667 which DOES run at 2667. Further reading suggests it's a jedec profile-- NOT xmp --(since the 7700hq doesn't support xmp) that's the key to RAM running at 2667. (if I understand that right)

    OC'ing the 1060:

    Probably should start a separate thread for this one.
    After several hours of messing around...I did make it to an approximate +233MHz on the core clock and it was flying and I was winning...until I wasn't and the whole machine crashed pretty hard! Then every setting above +175MHz crashed the benchmark or the machine.
    I Was unable to adjust voltage level or power and not sure I should--the voltage make's it to what I believe is the limit on this machine (1.050 V). The EVGA Precision XOC did allow me to type in the power limit percentage and Temp limit, though they appear to have little effect.

    I've settled in at a comfortable +175MHz on the Core clock and +525MHz on the Memory, leaving me at about 2038MHz on the Core at boost and 2266MHz (4532MHz) on the Memory clock. Much more and it starts to crash the benchmarks. After running Heaven, Superposition, Firestrike and Timespy, all run and score from 10-15% better than my best scores.

    *Heaven(max settings, 1440p (879->965)), *Time Spy ( 3572->4040), *Firestrike(9781->10244), *Superposition 1080 High (5549->6129),

    So for any searchers out there this is what I got so far: AW13r3:

    • 7700HQ
    • GTX 1060 6GB, 397.64 driver
    • 16 GB 2666 Kingston HyperX
    • Samsung PM981
    • Conductonaut on CPU, GPU
    • PGS heatpipe on PCH
    • +175MHz on GPU Core Clock
    • +525MHz on GPU Memory Clock

    Anyway that's all I can think of for now. Dissappointed AW is discontinuing this model, glad I got one while I'm able. Pics and graphs in the imgur link.

    https://imgur.com/a/Pc3dEae
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2018
    Vasudev, judal57, liviu2007 and 2 others like this.
  2. TheReciever

    TheReciever D! For Dragon!

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    709
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Be careful with precision, it wasnt long ago when that application was corrupting EDID rending the LCD display useless
     
  3. judal57

    judal57 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    143
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    434
    Trophy Points:
    101
    i dont understand what are you meaning with "color" ... is about aliware fx ? or changing the display color gamma or what ?
     
    forbyefor_gold_eagle likes this.
  4. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    3,036
    Messages:
    6,154
    Likes Received:
    3,954
    Trophy Points:
    431
    The hex code FF193300 to get the color scheme OP used.
     
    forbyefor_gold_eagle likes this.
  5. judal57

    judal57 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    143
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    434
    Trophy Points:
    101
    and where i put that code ?
     
  6. forbyefor_gold_eagle

    forbyefor_gold_eagle Newbie

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The "themes" file under AlienFX>themes should contain the themes you have created in AlienFX which have the HTML code (guess it's HTML, anyway) for the different lighting zones.
    I created a 'dummy' file by making a theme in AlienFX with all the same colors (that way you don't have to change each and every one, you can just cntrl-F and type the hex code already found and input a different one to experiment, that is if you want all on color). ie. create a theme in AlienFX titled "mytheme" then find the file and open with a text editor. Find the first entry where it says something like zone1 etc. FF123456 and change to the color you want.
    You can find the RGB color on a chart by googling. The color might not be what you think it will due to the hardware (the lighting zone) being unable to reproduce accurately every iteration of color, so you have to play with it for a while to find something you like. After you are done, save the file and select in AlienFX.
     
    Vasudev likes this.
  7. forbyefor_gold_eagle

    forbyefor_gold_eagle Newbie

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the headsup! I was unaware Precision had issues like that. Should I use MSI Afterburner instead?
     
  8. judal57

    judal57 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    143
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    434
    Trophy Points:
    101
    yes, msi is a lot better and with a little mod on the config file you can unlock voltages :)
     
    Vasudev and forbyefor_gold_eagle like this.
  9. Drinky

    Drinky Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    25
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Are you running an undervolt on your CPU at all? I'm getting similar temps with a GC-Extreme repaste and -150mV undervolt. I think you can drop the temps even a bit more with an undervolt.
     
    forbyefor_gold_eagle likes this.
  10. forbyefor_gold_eagle

    forbyefor_gold_eagle Newbie

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    6
    At first I dismissed that idea since I had the temps under control with Conductonaut and I didn't want to give up any performance, but perhaps I'm not understanding the idea of undervolting quite right.
     
Loading...

Share This Page