1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

HDMI>DVI Blinks

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by JaySmuv, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JaySmuv

    JaySmuv Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    I recently purchased an HDMI to DVI cable to plug my HP Pavillion 9000t into my plasma TV. Once I figured out the Function+F4 thing, it was great :cool:. The picture is very clear (once the resolution was lowered), but there are blinks in the picture. The screen goes black for a split second and then is back on. It doesn't happen constantly, but I watched a DVD from my laptop on the plasma screen and it got quite annoying.

    Any ideas what could be causing this? Anyone had similar problems?
     
  2. jpagel

    jpagel Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Video card could not be powerful enough to power that much to the TV constantly, bad cable, try a diff HDMI port if available - upgrade RAM, defrag your HD - anything that could be slowing the connection between the two -
    I do not have this issue (but I run a Desktop with 7800GT so of course not)
    Also check for updated video drivers for your video card -
     
  3. JaySmuv

    JaySmuv Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    I have a Go 7600. Shouldn't that be able to handle it? I have 2 GB RAM, so I'm sure that's not the bottleneck. Also, the system is like two months old, so I doubt a defrag would do much.

    There's only one HDMI port, so I can't test another. The cord is brand new, but I suppose it could be a bad cord. I have a DVD player with HDMI in another room, maybe I can test it with that to rule out a bad cord.

    I guess that leaves the video card drivers, which I haven't upgraded since I got the system. I should have upgraded those by now. I'll try that out when I get home today.

    Thanks!
     
  4. jpagel

    jpagel Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Defrag your HD too - I do it around every 2 months - Notebook HD's tend to fragment quicker as well - and if you have a friend with a plasma you can test on it - attempted a lower resolution rate and test - Get your drivers from www.nvidia.com - they will have the TV setup in Nvidia control panel which was extremely helpful when I setup my DVI->HDMI
    Oh yea and I totally agree on the RAM - 2gb is more than enough - Just wanted to make sure you were running 512 to 1gb for possible bottlenecking
     
  5. JaySmuv

    JaySmuv Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    I installed new drivers from LaptopVideo2Go, but I wasn't able to test whether or not the blinking stopped.

    The new drivers seem to alter the Function+F4 functionality. The first set of drivers I installed didn't seem to work at all. I was trying to switch screens, but it wouldn't work right away. Finally, I got the display over to the plasma, but couldn't get it back. Before, I could just flip displays and if I unplugged the HDMI cable, it would automatically switch back to my laptop screen.

    I removed the first set of drivers and installed an older version of the LaptopVideo2Go drivers (Chaz's GPU driver sticky said the newest ones had problems). This seemed to work a little better. I was able to extend my desktop or clone the screens, but I gave up and went to bed before I was able to just switch the primary screen. I'm sure I just missed something obvious, so I intend to get that going tonight.

    Any idea why the new drivers would make Function+F4 not function (sorry)?

    Hopefully, I'll be able to do some more complete testing in the next day or so.

    Thanks.
     
  6. JaySmuv

    JaySmuv Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Okay, I got the new drivers and defragged my drive, but I still am getting blinking. While playing some games, the blink seemed to coincide with the fan coming on.

    I'm currently running with ONLY the plasma monitor on. Shouldn't this be putting less strain on the video card, since it's only outputting at 1024x768? Obviously, there isn't any blinking when using the laptop screen alone.

    Thanks.
     
  7. jpagel

    jpagel Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    have you combed through you BIOS to look for settings?
     
  8. JaySmuv

    JaySmuv Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    No, I haven't even gone into the BIOS yet. What could I find in there that would help the problem?

    Should I be thinking about trying to modify when the fans come on or is that just a coincidence? I think the notebook is running pretty cool, but I suppose having the lid closed isn't helping the airflow.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page