Hd Tv + Laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by wackydude1234, Feb 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wackydude1234

    wackydude1234 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    ok i've connected my laptop to my hd tv, it is definetly 1920x1080 but when i put my laptop onto this resolution my monitor's screen get's small and squished and also the colours go really weird. is it because im using vga??? the same happens when i use my desktop pc on vga although it is a rather old desktop, using a radeon 9600 TX
     
  2. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,972
    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    i've seen now quite a few tv's and beamers that don't accept 1920x1080 directly from a vga source (while vga can deliver it with ease.. i have a 1920x1200 24" screen on vga running, works great).

    i guess the tv is blocking the simple thing. but it may just be a setting. do you have the option to test out a hdmi cable from laptop to tv?
     
  3. PhoenixFx

    PhoenixFx Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    744
    Messages:
    3,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Your post is not clear. what is the display mode : Single, extended or clone ?
    What do you mean ? When you set your laptop’s internal display to 1920x1080 or when you set your external display (TV) to 1920x1080? and which display gets small ??

    Can your TV handle 1920x1080 over VGA ? (check the documentation). What is the model of your TV ?
     
  4. wackydude1234

    wackydude1234 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    when i set my laptop to display at 1920x1080 on the tv the tv looks as though it's on 4:3, my tv is a toshiba regza 37xv505, i don't know if it does or not.


    edit: tried to make it clearer
     
  5. PhoenixFx

    PhoenixFx Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    744
    Messages:
    3,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    According to the specs listed at_Toshiba site, PC input is only WXGA, which means the resolution is limited to 1366x768. You'll have to use HDMI to get 1980x1080.
     
  6. wackydude1234

    wackydude1234 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    ah ok, thanks for the info, now to buy a vga to hdmi cable...
     
  7. wackydude1234

    wackydude1234 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i just realised though that im using 1400x1050 :S you said it's limited to 1336x768
     
  8. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,972
    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    it's the same max i get on my beamer with vga: 1400x1050.

    vga to hdmi doesn't work directly. this needs a converter box, which is expensive i think.

    i bet it's artificially blocked :(
     
  9. wackydude1234

    wackydude1234 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Yea i just noticed, i really was looking forward to full hd from my laptop x.x' both my laptop and pc only have vga x.x'
     
  10. PhoenixFx

    PhoenixFx Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    744
    Messages:
    3,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    1400x1050 is a rather unusual resolution. But as I said before,_Toshiba technical specs says PC Input: WXGA (which is 1366x768), maybe that is the maximum Wide screen resolution it can display, while 1400x1050 could be the maximum 4:3 resolution.

    A full HD VGA to HDMI converter will cost you at least a couple of hundred USDs. But there are some cheap converters on eBay that can take in a VGA signal of up to 1600x1200 and convert/upscale it to a 1080p digital signal (HDMI with audio). But I don’t think that will improve anything, as you can already reach 720p or 1400x1050 4:3. There is no point in getting anything short of a true 1080p converter.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page