Has anyone tried the Tesla M6 MXM

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by Damin, Aug 28, 2020.

  1. drystxx

    drystxx Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    17
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi, great to hear you made it work with P150HM and P170EM.

    Could you share us a guide on how to do it?

    I just bought a Korean variant of the P170EM and it's called Sparq X73 it comes with Gtx 670m and I would like to upgrade it to Tesla M6 too.

    Could you let me know the exact model of your Tesla M6?
    I want to buy from an ebay seller and it seems he is selling 3 variants?

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/174561020358

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/174439750778

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/174498809917

    UPDATE: https://www.ebay.com/itm/174439750778 and https://www.ebay.com/itm/174498809917 are the same listing, both have the same VBIOS as pasted on the sticker compared to the first one.


    There is a difference in between the model numbers in the GPU die:

    https://pasteboard.co/JNlgPlH.jpg
    https://pasteboard.co/JNlh5Cj.jpg
    https://pasteboard.co/JNlhi9o.jpg

    I'm just a noob so please feel free to correct me :p

    If you can let me know which one is exactly like your Tesla M6, I would appreciate :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2021
  2. PhOeNiX_H

    PhOeNiX_H Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I bought the first one. It didn't even boot on my P150EM. I thought the real issue is about not being compatible, but now I have a Precision M6700 and it also doesn't boot with this card installed. Now I don't know if the card is just defective or if it doesn't boot because it has a vbios made for HP Servers. My card came with a package saying that "this card is for HP Enterprise Servers only and warranty will be void if used on another system".

    I have a CH341A programmer that I bought a while ago for flashing a custom bios on my Thinkpad T440p. If it's possible to flash a different vbios on Tesla with that (and, of course, if this is exactly the reason why is not booting), I'm also interested to know how to do it.
     
  3. drystxx

    drystxx Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    17
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    26

    Thanks for letting me know. I wonder why it's not working in your system while others made it work. It's also strange that the same seller is selling His Tesla m6 with different prices. the one you bought is $99 while the other 2 of his listings are at $119 and one of it says M5100M.

    Also, the $99 you bought, this one's VBIOS pasted on the card's sticker is BIOS Ver: 84.04.85.00.07

    the other 2 $119 are basically the same gpu's. They have this sticker: BIOS Ver: 84.04.8F.00.0C

    Another seller ( https://www.ebay.com/itm/NVidia-Tesla-M6-8GB-GPU-Video-Card-808409-001-806127-001-GM204-995-A1-805132-B21/283970169668?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2055359.m2763.l2649) is selling the Tesla M6 with the same BIOS Ver: 84.04.8F.00.0C


    If anyone who was able to make their Tesla m6 work, could share with us the current VBIOS of their card.

    UPDATE: as posted by Wishiwashi previously, his Vbios is also 84.04.8F.00.0C. Maybe the working version is the one with this Vbios?
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2021
  4. PhOeNiX_H

    PhOeNiX_H Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have nothing to lose, so I'm willing to flash this vbios with my programmer.

    Seems like you can download it here: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/225011/225011

    I just have no idea how to do it. I'm not sure if it's the same process that you do with a desktop GPU or something. Just because I have nothing to lose, it doesn't mean that I'll Leeroy Jenkins it, lol.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2021
  5. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    9,082
    Messages:
    56,289
    Likes Received:
    16,723
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Same process, just check the programming voltage of the chip and take a full dump of it.
     
  6. drystxx

    drystxx Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    17
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    26

    Goodluck man! let us know how it goes :)
     
  7. PhOeNiX_H

    PhOeNiX_H Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, bad news. It's not impossible to flash (I think), but you can't make any contact with the programmer because the chip is too deep.

    I'm not sure if actually exists any kind of programmer made for situations like this. The only way to actually do the flashing is probably desoldering, then connect to the programmer and finally (after flashing) soldering again.

    I know absolutely nothing about soldering, so I'm afraid I can't do anything about it and this card will probably be shelved somewhere in my room. I could try to return it (and then buying the other card with different vbios), but I have no idea if the seller would be fine about returns, especially if I'm being honest.
     
  8. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    9,082
    Messages:
    56,289
    Likes Received:
    16,723
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Is it the bga style chip? They do make them more difficult.
     
  9. PhOeNiX_H

    PhOeNiX_H Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Eeyup. That's the one.

    [​IMG]

    And I presume the chip that I've marked with red square it's the vbios chip. If so, the programmer won't cut it.
     
  10. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    9,082
    Messages:
    56,289
    Likes Received:
    16,723
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Yes, that's the one.
     
Loading...

Share This Page