GTX 960M now? Or wait for Pascal 1060M?

Discussion in 'Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)' started by Ravedous, Jun 15, 2016.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ravedous

Ravedous Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hello! It is my first time posting here and sorry for any mistakes. So i already have a GTX 980 equipped PC and wanted a secondary device which is the laptop for when i occasionally am on the go. I decided on the GTX 960M because it's cheap and enough to play games at high fps at low settings. Should I buy a laptop that has the GTX 960M now or wait for the Pascal gpu's to launch for the extra fps and future proofness. And is there an estimate of when the Pascal gpu's will launch in the following months? Thanks!

2. Mr Najsman

Mr Najsman Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    Cost might be an issue, new laptops with 1060M will most likely cost more than what the ones with 960M can be had for today. Are you at your upper limit?

Otherwise I'd say wait if you don't need one now. Estimates for Pascal laptops are generally September/October (not confirmed).

Edit: And welcome to NBR :hi:

katalin_2003 likes this.
  3. J.Dre

J.Dre Notebook Nobel Laureate

Reputations:
    Depends on your budget and needs.

I'd strongly urge you to wait. Even if you were to purchase and resell (which is an option if you're desperate) you'd be losing a few hundred dollars due to depreciation as soon as the 1060M is released. We are less than 90 days away from the launch of mobile Pascal. We will start seeing benchmarks and whatnot by the end of July. August is the anticipated launch period.

Laptops will be for sale in September. ;) The 1060M will be approximately 40% better than the 960M - maybe more - and will cost the same.

TBoneSan and TomJGX like this.
  4. TomJGX

TomJGX I HATE BGA!

Reputations: