1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

GTA IV + M14x (Nvidia Optimus)

Discussion in 'Alienware 14 and M14x' started by thebigalex, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. lephilou

    lephilou Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    if you want to see if it is the Nvidia gpu or Intel chipset try to run the benchmark by launching game using only Intel,
    you will see Nvidia is used when u get 30 fps and Intel you get 12fps

    too bad they can't find a way to make them work in SLI

    ;) damn i wish they were working on this
     
  2. CGSDR

    CGSDR Alien Master Race

    Reputations:
    285
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,451
    lol, you cant SLI a Nvidia with Intel IGP, that would be cross-SLI ;)
     
  3. lephilou

    lephilou Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    i think everyone can understand wat i meant
    come on, don't be so sticky and read again wat i wrote

    anyway woudn't it be cool to get some power from the Intel to help the GT555!!!
     
  4. CGSDR

    CGSDR Alien Master Race

    Reputations:
    285
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,451
    lol, I just having fun, :) but yeah it would be great if the two can work together and boost the performance.

    But talking about SLI, didnt AMD fusion do the same thing like the Sandy Bridge? AMD fusion use those HD 6200 ~ 6300 series, I wonder if they will be able to CrossFire with those AMD Radeon 6700 ~ 6900 Series, lol if they do, it would be dominated.
     
  5. BDM14X

    BDM14X Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Hey guys.
    I'm currently trying to make my damn M14x to run GTA with the high end GPU.
    It came with stock nVidia driver 267.21
    Tried to put parameters to the shortcut, didn't work.
    Installed batman: a.a, the nVidia GPU seemed to work. Decent graphics.

    To be quite frank, i'm a little disappointed with the fact that the optimus system is, in a sense flawed. Not when you are paying for such machinery anyway.

    My question is this:
    If i update my driver (in order to play the game), will that affect the system's ability to switch between GPUs and pretty much ruin the power management plan?
     
  6. CGSDR

    CGSDR Alien Master Race

    Reputations:
    285
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,451
    No, I dont think it would, because This is just NVIDIA Graphic card driver, and the power plan is Windows 7 system management side of thing. The only version I try (not sure for the 285 series) that work is like I mention many times - 275.33.
     
  7. BDM14X

    BDM14X Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    roger that, proceeding with download& installation.
    Still not comfortable with the idea that i might f$#@ up the existing, partially ed up optimus.
     
  8. BDM14X

    BDM14X Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    jesus christ it must be in joking. it can't find the card.
     
  9. kimjo42

    kimjo42 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    I'm using 285.38 and I get around 30 FPS on high settings.

    I bought GTA4 off Steam since it was 6.50$ over the weekend.
    No regrets!
     
  10. BDM14X

    BDM14X Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    i can't update my nVidia driver, not even with the latest.
    plus from a point on i'm getting repeated blue screens that say that the reason is either from software or hardware.
    Something is seriously ed up here, my system hasn't even closed 24 hours of usage. I just ing got it today and it's driving me nuts. Blue screens?! WHAT IN THE NAME OF GOD?!
    the first one was when i clicked the link in the beginning of this thread (the one that suggested to update the driver. I think the 2nd reply of this thread)
    Seriously, what should i do? The system was brought from the USA and i'm in Greece.
     
Similar Threads: M14x (Nvidia
Forum Title Date
Alienware 14 and M14x Project Restoration: Rebuliding the m14xR2 May 11, 2015
Alienware 14 and M14x My M14XR2 and it's current Problems May 3, 2015
Alienware 14 and M14x M14X BSOD/HDD Issues Apr 17, 2015
Alienware 14 and M14x Alienware M14x R1 temperature/aging problems. Apr 9, 2015
Alienware 14 and M14x How much could I sell my old Alienware M14x for? Mar 9, 2015

Share This Page