GT72S 6QE 980m upgrade to 1070?

Discussion in 'MSI' started by Sup3rKillaX, Jan 10, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eurocom Support

    Eurocom Support Company Representative

    Reputations:
    293
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Thanks. We will add this info to our MSI GPU Upgrade Configurator to make things easier for people upgrading their GT72.
     
  2. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    8,356
    Messages:
    5,983
    Likes Received:
    8,596
    Trophy Points:
    681
    Keep in mind that the layout of the GT73VR 1070 and GT72VR 1070 are different. There are also the issues with the voltage regulation on older versions of the 1070, made in 2016, and it seems both the GT73VR and GT72VR had problems with the 1.013+ voltage steps causing crashes. There were at least five, maybe six different revisions of the MSI 1070 card.

    If I recall,
    1) Gt72s/GT72VR layout, voltage bugged, gsync (2016)
    2) GT72VR voltage fixed gsync (2017)
    3) GT73VR layout voltage bugged gsync (2016)
    4) GT73VR layout voltage fixed gsync (2017)

    5) Gt72VR non gsync voltage bugged (needs verification)
    6) GT73VR non gsync voltage fixed (needs verification).
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2017
    hacktrix2006 likes this.
  3. bcpl

    bcpl Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So the best option for me is a card from 2017 kabylake gt72vr?
     
  4. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Hold My Vodka, I going to kill my GPU

    Reputations:
    619
    Messages:
    1,998
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Or get one from eurocom which has the heatsink as well for it in the configuration options.

    Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk
     
  5. senso

    senso Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    554
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    774
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Does Eurocom have any European representation, I'm kinda interested in jumping to a 1070, and the Eurocom prices are enticing, VAT is a given, but being raped by custom charges that will be over 150€ takes a bit of the fun/will to jump.
     
  6. bcpl

    bcpl Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    6
  7. sicily428

    sicily428 Donuts!! :)

    Reputations:
    816
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    1,979
    Trophy Points:
    231
    check eurocom-europe
     
  8. Eurocom Support

    Eurocom Support Company Representative

    Reputations:
    293
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    106
    You can order with VAT included option so everything is included and pay nothing on receiving [link to own site removed by moderator - read forum rules]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 14, 2018
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page