GT72-6QD Battery [Solved]

Discussion in 'MSI' started by hacktrix2006, Jan 25, 2020.

  1. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Hold My Vodka, I going to kill my GPU

    Reputations:
    359
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Hi, so my system is 4 years old and it's looking like I need a new battery.

    Even though HWInfo states a 1.9% wear, there is no way a battery can drain 747.0w on a 83.5wh battery (Original one that come with the system).

    However basically the symptoms are.

    Battery lasts less then 30 minutes

    Battery calibration will drain to 83% and the system shuts off

    Windows keeps reporting about Kernel Power Source Event ID 105 (AKA power switching from AC to Battery and back)

    So unsure what the issue is, part of me says battery however could be PSU or even the jack.

    Also trying to find decent battery replacement in UK too if anyone has ideas let me know.

    Also if there is any other test to try please let me know.

    UPDATE: so I disconnected the battery and put load whilst it was just AC, it promptly shut down.

    CPU temps was 67c and GPU temps was 69c

    However Prochot showed in Throttle stop Red then Yellow then system died.


    Update 2: Nothing is working now not even powering on.

    Update 3: I now have the laptop booted again, I have replaced the GPU to its stock GTX 970m 6GB (Thankfully i still had the card).

    It still refused to boot for a while but then it booted, noticed one fan stopped working unplugged it a few times and now its spinning again.

    I am now at a total loss on what the issue is, it was even refusing to detect the charger too. I know the laptop is 4 years old but i am going to be SOL going forward as i can't afford another laptop for a very very long time and don't want to be chucking money on this that and the other to try and solve the issue that might not solve said issue.

    Update 4:

    HW Info is reading

    Battery Readout.png

    Like WTF.

    Also battery history from Windows is attached.





    Thanks for any or all replies in advance.


    Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk


    [SOLVED]: Solution
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 3, 2020
  2. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Hold My Vodka, I going to kill my GPU

    Reputations:
    359
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    131
  3. Kevin@GenTechPC

    Kevin@GenTechPC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    1,014
    Messages:
    8,501
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Sounds like a faulty mainboard to me. Nevertheless, I would go with resetting everything to default, including BIOS (full reflash to stock) as well as EC firmware.
     
  4. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Hold My Vodka, I going to kill my GPU

    Reputations:
    359
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    131
    EC firmware has been done. BIOS has been reset too, but will try flashing the bios next.

    If it's a faulty mainboard I am defo screwed, I take it your thinking the Power circuit has started to fail?.

    Thanks for your reply.

    Edit: just reflashed the bios, although I very much doubt it will solve the issue.

    Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  5. Kevin@GenTechPC

    Kevin@GenTechPC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    1,014
    Messages:
    8,501
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Yup, there are components that are prone to failures when used intensively above its designed specification, and when your system acted strangely like that it could have been those, and we can't see this with our bare eyes.
     
  6. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Hold My Vodka, I going to kill my GPU

    Reputations:
    359
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Well it didn't fix it. Which is a shame.

    I bet is something that can't be fixed via board repair either.

    Update: Right so I have gone and switched to IGP and I am running right now valley like I did with the dgpu, it's still doing the -700+ crap on HWInfo battery readout.

    Managed to find someone i know whom has the GT72-6QE so will be able to test the PSU on that.

    I can't complain laptop has been on for over 3.5 years of its life 24/7.


    Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  7. Kevin@GenTechPC

    Kevin@GenTechPC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    1,014
    Messages:
    8,501
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Do you still want to fix it? Ask MSI to find out how much it would cost to see if it's worthy to do it or not.
     
  8. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Hold My Vodka, I going to kill my GPU

    Reputations:
    359
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    131
    I am way out of warranty, so that leaves my options wide open. If I can get it fixed then yes. However the last time I contacted MSI for a part it was well expensive I mean like £100+ for a battery quote plus having shipping on top. Not only that I would need to send it outside the UK, not only that the chances of the stock being there for board replacement is be very slim and I have heard horror stories of laptop repairs via RMA.

    My head is just all over the place as I don't socialise IRL most of my socialising is online with people that I talk to in communities such as NBR.


    Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk
     
    Kevin@GenTechPC likes this.
  9. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Hold My Vodka, I going to kill my GPU

    Reputations:
    359
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Ok, after hours and hours and calming myself down (Yes i was in a major panic), as well as inviting my brother in-law over with his laptop which cost me a sunday lunch I found the issue not to be a Power IC, PSU issue but it was down to the Intel ME Firmware Update.

    So anyone with a GT72 do not flash Intel® Management Engine Critical Firmware Update for Security Vulnerabilities (Intel-SA-00213). It will mess your system up big time.

    @Kevin@GenTechPC Thanks for your help.
     
    asm1 and Kevin@GenTechPC like this.
  10. asm1

    asm1 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    123
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    56
    So, are you able to fix it or is it permaborked ?
     
    hacktrix2006 likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page