Gt60 NVIDIA Settings are not available. You are not currently using a display attached to an NVIDIA

Discussion in 'MSI' started by panamaniacs2011, Jun 24, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. panamaniacs2011

    panamaniacs2011 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    41
    hello!! just got a gt60 (ivy bridge) without gpu , separately i got an msi gtx880m 8gb and i am wondering if is plug and play or do i have to do something extra? thank you in advance
     
  2. iTzZent

    iTzZent Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    41
    it´s plug and play. but you need also the kepler heatsink for the GTX880M.
     
  3. panamaniacs2011

    panamaniacs2011 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    41
    thanks ... i do have a kepler heatsink but screws dont match the mountng holes on the graphics card bracket , it seems screws are too thick to fit the holes , dont know how to fix this. also could you help me with pad thickness please i dont want to mess up , thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Zoltan@zTecpc

    Zoltan@zTecpc Company Representative

    Reputations:
    223
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    56
    The GPU shouldn't have a bracket only the holes the motherboard has the screw posts.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N915A using Tapatalk
     
  5. mufferer18

    mufferer18 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    31
    You must buy screws M2 or M2,5 as I remember, and have some caps to hold the screws with radiator.
     
  6. panamaniacs2011

    panamaniacs2011 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Hello!! got a gt60 , installed an msi gtx 880m 8gb, installed drivers without problems, afterwards without restarting tried to access nvidia control panel and got
    NVIDIA Settings are not available. You are not currently using a display attached to an NVIDIA gpu, then i uninstalled Intel HD drivers, restarted and i have now a black screen, help please!!

    Edit 1 i am able to access bios, i get the black screen as soon i get into Windows, using unlocked bios btw
    Edit 2 Had to remove GPU in order to use the laptop again, next thing im going to try is flashing the card with svl7 vbios, dont know what else could be done :(
    Edit 3 forgot to mention i am using the ivy bridge model
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016
  7. panamaniacs2011

    panamaniacs2011 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    41
    i managed to install the card but i get a black screen when installing latest nvidia drivers
     
  8. Kevin@GenTechPC

    Kevin@GenTechPC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    1,014
    Messages:
    8,501
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Perhaps you will need to flash the VGA BIOS on the graphics card, have you done that already?
     
  9. zipperi

    zipperi Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    53
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I suppose it doesn't work without Intel drivers as Optimus is channeling the signal from Nvidia via Intel to the output jacks (my GT70 0NE).
     
  10. panamaniacs2011

    panamaniacs2011 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    41
    So i have to connenct an external monitor to be able to use the gtx880m?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page