GT 72s Upgrade Panel

Discussion in 'MSI' started by Danishblunt, Apr 27, 2018.

  1. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    547
    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Trophy Points:
    231
    @t456

    So I was wondering since I got a GT72S with a 60hz panel (which I could OC to 105hz) if I could upgrade to a 120hz panel with better color coverage. So far I know that my panel is a 30pin eDP 2lanes Panel however I'm wondering if I got another eDP port on this model, since apparently MSI also does offer this model with a 4k UHD screen and 100% sRGB, which I believe is a 40pin 4lane eDP panel. So I am wondering if anyone knows more about this.
     
  2. t456

    t456 1977-09-05, 12:56:00 UTC Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,278
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Could you get the edid from this panel? Reviews are an option to find out the panel nr., but identical laptop models can use different panels due to differences in motherboard revisions.

    It might be a 2-lane/40-pin lcd, but it's also possible the 4-lane/40-pin is run from a 30-pin connector on the motherboard end since not all pins are mandatory and some of them can be combined. A photo of the mb would easily show the connector's pin count. There won't be two connectors, unless the other one is an LVDS type, but there might be two motherboard versions, of course.
     
    Nomad likes this.
  3. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    547
    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Trophy Points:
    231
    *****************************************************************

    Active : No

    Registry Key : DISPLAY\LGD0469\1&8713bca&0&UID0

    Manufacture Week : 0 / 2014

    ManufacturerID : 58416 (0xE430)

    ProductID : 1129 (0x0469)

    Serial Number (Numeric) : 0 (0x00000000)

    EDID Version : 1.4

    Display Gamma : 2.20

    Maximum Image Size : 38 X 21 cm (17.1 Inch)

    Maximum Resolution : 1920 X 1080

    Support Standby Mode : No

    Support Suspend Mode : No

    Support Low-Power Mode : No

    Support Default GTF : No

    Digital : Yes



    Supported Display Modes :

    1920 X 1080 60 Hz



    *****************************************************************



    *****************************************************************

    Active : Yes

    Registry Key : DISPLAY\LGD0469\5&12d77f40&1&UID4353

    Manufacture Week : 0 / 2014

    ManufacturerID : 58416 (0xE430)

    ProductID : 1129 (0x0469)

    Serial Number (Numeric) : 0 (0x00000000)

    EDID Version : 1.4

    Display Gamma : 2.20

    Maximum Image Size : 38 X 21 cm (17.1 Inch)

    Maximum Resolution : 1920 X 1080

    Support Standby Mode : No

    Support Suspend Mode : No

    Support Low-Power Mode : No

    Support Default GTF : No

    Digital : Yes



    Supported Display Modes :

    1920 X 1080 60 Hz



    *****************************************************************
     
  4. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I ordered yesterday a 120Hz FHD display for my GT72.

    To get myself covered, I ordered the panel and the 40 pin eDP cable:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/snapshot/0.html?orderId=91465571940226&productId=32823062741

    For 8-9€ its assurance that I have the needed cable, but at least on mine I'm almost sure that the current one is the 30 pin eDP cable.

    And the new panel model: N173HHE-G32

    The same cable and panel will fit your GT72S.

    Now, to play the waiting game D:
     
    t456 likes this.
  5. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    547
    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Tell me how it went, I'm actually interested in exacly that pannel, since it has high gamut and 120hz.
     
  6. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Expect some 3 weeks of wait time, after it arrives I will swap it right that day, I can ping you back when I do so.
     
  7. Paparatsio

    Paparatsio Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    follow...
     
  8. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Good luck senso i am thinking of doing the same thing as well but wanting to go for 1440p @ 120hz Using AUO B173HAN01.0 screen instead. I know the GT72s series used 30 -> 40 pin EDP cable so a 40 -> 40 pin EDP cable would be needed for the upgrade anyhows. Only after upgrading my MXM card from GTX 1060 to GTX 1070 so that i can play games at 1440p to relieve CPU bottlenecking which occurs from 1080p gaming.
     
  9. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I was tempted to get the 1440p display as well, but there are some reports of banding on this forums, and the sRGB and aRGB coverage is a bit poor.

    And I know that going for the 1440p would get me hitching to grab a 1070..
     
    hacktrix2006 likes this.
  10. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    76
    When you say banding what do you mean? Do you mean colour gradient of Grey's etc showing more then normal like the 6bit panels. Ya the only reason going for 1440p is the excuse of getting a GTX1070 lol. As I know that the next Nvidia GPU's will not come out in MXM for a while if at all because if the BGA filth everyone apart of a select OEM is going down.

    Sent from my SHIELD Tablet K1 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2018
  11. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Did you mix the 1440p panel model number?

    The one that I read more about is the B173qtn01.4

    And the banding was talked in a couple posts/topics, and you can also watch this video:

     
    hacktrix2006 likes this.
  12. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I see what you mean, dam wonder what other panel does 1440p @ 120hz. Also yes i put in the wrong screen it was the one you was talking about.
     
  13. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    As far as I know, the 1.4 version of that panel should be the best 1440p available on the market till now.

    On another note, my display and eDP cables have been shipped, hope the display arrives intact.
     
    hacktrix2006 likes this.
  14. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Nice one and thanks for the info. Loosing my rag right now with my laptop right now. Starting to wonder why I go down the hard path when it comes to installing OS and sysprep I really do. So far 8 sysprep fails.

    Will look at the specs of the 1.4 screen later if I can get my laptop working nicely.

    Sent from my SHIELD Tablet K1 using Tapatalk
     
  15. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Dont get me wrong, what are you trying to achieve with sysprep?

    At my last job we used it, so that after a warranty repair the client would be greeted by the Windows setup screen where they can put their user name and what not, but nothing besides that.
     
  16. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    216
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I used to be able to make my own one button press recovery where I have installed all my apps and tweaks, then sysprep'd it and captured the image. It just made it easier for me but it would seem Windows 10 1803 has had some changes. So it looks like I am going to just try booting into audit then running my script to see if I can fix the issue

    Sent from my SHIELD Tablet K1 using Tapatalk

    Edit: double posted I am not with it today.
     
  17. senso

    senso Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    169
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Ohh, ok, I never created any image using it, hence my curiosity.

    When I do clean installs I preffer to download all the latest drivers from intel, nvidia, killer, etc websites directly and then install them, some programs take a bit of time to setup, but I kinda enjoy doing so.

    You could do an image with a dedicated imaging software, or a live boot pen with ubuntu and dd and then use that as your recovery image.
     
Loading...

Share This Page