GS65 Repaste Question

Discussion in 'MSI' started by BeastOG, Jul 1, 2018.

1. BeastOG

BeastOG Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Hello,

This may be the wrong place to ask, but I recently upgraded to a gs65 and I'm a big fan. I found a great deal on the best buy model, and I've bough my own ssd and ram to upgrade it, and I decided to buy some thermal paste (kryonaut) as well. However this is my first time repasting and I'm seeing some conflicting information. When applying the paste, am I supposed to spread it, or just do a line and then press the heatsink down? Any help would be appreciated.

2. Danishblunt

Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

Reputations:
    It doesn't matter. There are tons of videos debunking the whole "how to apply thermal compound correcly" just make sure its enough and not to little and you're good.

Terreos and B0B like this.
  3. asm1

asm1 Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Also be sure to discharge static and not move around too much. BEFORE you take the Heatsink off. I killed my GE62 that way :( had it less than a year. Which reminds me. I must find out how much a new motherboard costs... frightened to ask.

Thouroughly recommend stripping to underwear. No joke.

KY_BULLET, BeastOG, Terreos and 2 others like this.
  4. senso

senso Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    I just touch the PE "spring" in a wall socket every now and then..

You would need to have a ton of static to kill a mobo, more likelly that you made a short before disconnecting the battery..

KY_BULLET, raz8020 and BeastOG like this.
  5. Terreos

Terreos Notebook Evangelist

Reputations: