Graphics Card upgrade for M6800 ?

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by derei, Jun 27, 2017.

  1. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    790
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Trophy Points:
    231
    1 — Really depends on how much the software that you are using will utilize the GPU. If it uses the GPU for rendering or encoding and you find yourself bottlenecked there, upgrading the GPU would definitely be helpful. Maxwell cards are significantly faster than Kepler ones.
    2 — The system was never offered from Dell with a 4K display, but, if you have an eDP system with appropriate cable then you could maybe fit one in. "Standard" 4K 17.3" eDP panels will not fit (screws/brackets are not in the right place) so it would take some work to make it fit. I know that @TheQuentincc got one working in the M6700 and I do not see why it would not work in the M6800 as well.

    For macOS I believe that you will want to run with Optimus / graphics switching disabled in the BIOS so that the discrete GPU can be used; macOS does not support application-level graphics switching as implemented on newer traditional Windows systems.
     
  2. ezugaru

    ezugaru Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Oh! Thanks a lot for your reply, i really appreciate your insights. I will test and see if i need the upgrade. The 4K Display is worth i think. I Will track TheQuentincc's posts.

    Enviado desde mi M2003J15SC mediante Tapatalk
     
  3. ezugaru

    ezugaru Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi TheQuentincc, any 4k 17.3" edp Display Will do? I know there is some work to do to make it fit, but it's any ok?

    Enviado desde mi M2003J15SC mediante Tapatalk
     
  4. TheQuentincc

    TheQuentincc Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    70
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    56
    to be clear, YOU CAN'T USE 4K INTERNAL DISPLAY ON THE M6800, eDP video output on the M6800 is only 2 lane eDP, and for 4k display you need 4 lane eDP.
    Only the M6700 is 4 lane eDP and can handle 4k internal display.
     
  5. ezugaru

    ezugaru Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Oh! Thanks a lot for telling me that. I Will re-evaluate My options.

    Enviado desde mi M2003J15SC mediante Tapatalk
     
  6. T C

    T C Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,
    I am new here. I have three Dell m6800 machines. One is stock, one I have successfully added a Nvidia m5000m.
    I am now attempting to make a P5200 work in my third machine. It has eDP motherboard. The P5200 is Rev C.
    I have soldered on a vBIOS (W25Q40EW). I now need a good vBIOS, I have seen someone claim success with 86-04-8B-00-25.
    I have also seen someone claim ES version vBIOS is needed. I am hoping someone will help me with this.
    I also need a Driver recommendation. Thanks to all in advance.
     
    supermoth likes this.
  7. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    790
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Trophy Points:
    231
    86-04-8B-00-25 — This does not appear to be a real vBIOS version. There is one "86.04.3A.00.25" for the P5000. I haven't heard any success story for the P5200 in the M6700 or M6800. We don't have working vBIOS for any Pascal cards other than P3000, P4000, and P5000.
     
  8. T C

    T C Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you for replying. I think the source of my comment on vBIOS Engineering Sample that could be provided came from a post from RMSMajestic.
    Do you have a suggestion for a driver?
     
  9. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    790
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Trophy Points:
    231
    No specific driver is needed. Use the latest one from NVIDIA. You'll have to modify the INF to get it to work. I have some notes on this here.
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...0-owners-thread.820539/page-253#post-10937563

    [Edit] - Wrong link... Looks like they deleted some posts from that thread so the page that it is on changed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2020
  10. supermoth

    supermoth Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Could you post some pictures please?
    Are you adding the card to an EDP or LVDS LCD?
     
Loading...

Share This Page