Good news for Latitude X1 owners!

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by ivar, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. bills50000

    bills50000 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm also failing at using SetFSB 2.1.91.1 on my Latitude X1. Can you post more information about how you got it to work?

    Thanks,

    --Jon
     
  2. TheStar

    TheStar Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hi Folks, I was just trying out one of these X1's when it completely froze up. When I go to turn it back on, I get now display and the CAPS LOCK Button blinks 10 times, then the machine shuts down.

    Anyone have any idea what this can be? I have tried different RAM and it didn't help.

    Tried looking up the DELL system codes, but could not figure out what it means. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  3. ricoFR69

    ricoFR69 Newbie

    Reputations:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Here is some pictures of my Mtron 32GB SSD in my Dell X1 with
    ZIF IDE adaptor
    my config:
    - SSD 32GB ZIF Mtron
    - 2GB Transcend
    - Crucial 8GB SDHC
    - System Ubuntu 8.1

    My Dell X1 is very fast now
    SSD mTRON with HDTACH 65 read 65 write
     

    Attached Files:

  4. powertex

    powertex Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5

    Can you post your result from running bonie++ and hdparm? this is what i am getting with a 16gb samsung ssd.

    Bonnie++:
    Code:
    Version 1.03c       ------Sequential Output------ --Sequential Input- --Random-
                        -Per Chr- --Block-- -Rewrite- -Per Chr- --Block-- --Seeks--
    Machine        Size K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP  /sec %CP
    latitudex1       4G 15352  80 15104   6 12716   5 17505  82 46609  10  2093  15
                        ------Sequential Create------ --------Random Create--------
                        -Create-- --Read--- -Delete-- -Create-- --Read--- -Delete--
                  files  /sec %CP  /sec %CP  /sec %CP  /sec %CP  /sec %CP  /sec %CP
                     16 11614  37 +++++ +++ +++++ +++ 29640  93 +++++ +++ +++++ +++
    latitudex1,4G,15352,80,15104,6,12716,5,17505,82,46609,10,2092.7,15,16,11614,37,+++++,+++,+++++,+++,29640,93,+++++,+++,+++++,+++
    
    Hdparm:
    Code:
    /dev/sda1:
     Timing cached reads:   1388 MB in  2.00 seconds = 694.52 MB/sec
     Timing buffered disk reads:  144 MB in  3.02 seconds =  47.76 MB/sec
    
     
  5. ivar

    ivar Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    432
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    More details on overclocking of X1:

    I use SetFSB 2.1.84.0.

    Chose Clock generator ICS954201BGLF.
    Click GetFSB. My Current FSB and Select FSB show all zero values (these errors should be fixed by setFSB developer in later releases). The value of Current CPU Frequency (Internal MMT) is shown correctly.
    I use my installation of Notebook Hardware Control to monitor the processor clock (you can also use CPU-Z to monitor both clock and FSB).
    Now, change FSB slowly by clicking on > or <. On my X1 the value 66/760
    corresponds to max CPU speed 1105.6MHz, 70/760 to 1118.6MHz, 75/760 to 1135.4MHZ, 80/760 to 1151.8MHz, 60/750 to 1085.7MHz, 55/760 to 1069.8MHz etc.

    I found the name of the correct clock generator by looking on the mainboard of a disassembled X1. It might be that there are different mainboards on the market with different clock generators (??). PC Wizard 2008 identifies my MB as Dell 0XF993.

    Note, that the range of your stable over/underclocking depends also from
    your undervolting setup (if you have one).
     
  6. ricoFR69

    ricoFR69 Newbie

    Reputations:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    POWERTEX hello I am newbie with ubuntu but I'll try

    with bonnie + +:
    Version 1.03c ------Sequential Output------ --Sequential Input- --Random-
    -Per Chr- --Block-- -Rewrite- -Per Chr- --Block-- --Seeks--
    Machine Size K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP /sec %CP
    ubuntu 4G 17239 92 28728 21 19910 16 20209 95 74280 28 4300 38
    ------Sequential Create------ --------Random Create--------
    -Create-- --Read--- -Delete-- -Create-- --Read--- -Delete--
    files /sec %CP /sec %CP /sec %CP /sec %CP /sec %CP /sec %CP
    16 31358 100 +++++ +++ +++++ +++ 32262 96 +++++ +++ +++++ +++
    ubuntu,4G,17239,92,28728,21,19910,16,20209,95,74280,28,4299.7,38,16,31358,100,+++++,+++,+++++,+++,32262,96,+++++,+++,+++++,+++

    with HDfarm: impossible
    boss@ubuntu:~$ /dev/sda1
    bash: /dev/sda1: Permission non accordée
    boss@ubuntu:~$
     
  7. powertex

    powertex Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    wow that is a lot faster! i gotta get me an mtron. they're just so expensive though.
     
  8. mattodonnell

    mattodonnell Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Everyone, thank you thank you and thank you. At last a forum where I can learn lots !

    A couple of questions please...

    1) is the SSD 32GB ZIF Mtron the largest SSD we know will work
    2) Why is '8GB SDHC' Crucial ? What are you using the SD for? Sorry I'm missing the point
    3) System Ubuntu 8.1
    4) What does 'HDTACH 65 read 65 write' mean?

    Much appreciated, and I've already ordered the Transend 2GB, and will order the rest as soon as I get a little help on these.

    BTW, I'll probably run XP still, but I am assuming this is quick enough. If not then I will learn Ubuntu.

    Any help is much appreciated

    Matt
     
  9. SandSand

    SandSand Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Wow looking forward to someone testing these drives in the X1 :)

    Edit:
    RunCore 1.8" ZIF SSD will NOT work with devices containing these
    ============
    Toshiba MK6006GAH 60 GB Pins 8mm

    Which my X1 has.
    Will that be because of the physical connector I wonder ?
     
  10. channelv

    channelv Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the US has different main boards for the X1. I have gone through three of the X1s and checked the PLL Clock Generators and they were all the same ones: CYP (CYPRESS) CY28411zxc. From googling, I've seen that thinkpads x300 and x200 have the same PLL. Unfortunately it doesnt look like these can be adjusted on the fly.

    Update: I've obtained yet another X1 for investigation and it has yet a different PLL clock generator: the ICS43194a. This one isnt listed in setfsb or other similar programs either so looks like this one can't be overclocked either.
     
Similar Threads: news Latitude
Forum Title Date
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision any news on the refreshed latitudes and precisons ?? Oct 25, 2009
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision News on Haswell based mobile Precision M6800 ? Mar 7, 2013
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Dell Vostro 3x60 news Jun 7, 2012
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Any news on m6600 touch screen and 5010m Jul 10, 2011
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Great News! AMD has added support for Firepro Mobility Feb 11, 2011

Share This Page